Penne with Pink Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Nice alternative to a traditional marinara sauce. To turn this into a special occasion meal, I serve it over fresh lobster ravioli sold at my local grocery store. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Delicious sauce! I must warn though that this is WAY too much sauce for a pound of penne pasta! I froze more than half of it. I also used 1/2 cup of vodka (Not by choice-my husband drank it all!) and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe was ok but not DIVINE. I'm from New Orleans and used to more flavor in my food, yet I can eat a baked potatoe and be satisfied. This recipe was just not the rave that reviewers gave it. I read the reviews and thought the sauce would be too much, so I doubled the penne pasta. Still it is a LOT! What does someone want with 2-28 oz cans of tomatoes unless they are feeding a small army anyway! The first thing I tasted was the aluminum from the canned tomatoes! Who wants to taste aluminum. I am used to eating fresh fruits and vegetables and could avoid canned goods for the rest of my life. The second dissapointment was that you couldn't even taste the vodka, which was quite expensive. I realize the alcohol burns off, but the vodka was overpowered by the canned tomatoes and the cream. Third, I must say that I was not hip on "pink" sauce. Food is not supposed to be PINK! But the vodka attracted me to this recipe. I realize the pink comes from combining the cream and tomatoes, but still looking at pink food was not to my palate. The only reason I gave this 3 stars is because my better half wanted to give it 5 and I wanted to give it 2 so we combined. It was not worthy of a 4 star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I did somethin wrong i guess.The vodka was strong and i cant serve this to my kids.I will try it again though,with less vodka.pretty tasty just too much alcohol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Excellent recipe and very tasty. I simply replaced the penne with rotini pasta. Next time, I will cut half the amount of crushed tomatoes, since I found it a bit too watery but still, the taste of the pasta was wonderful nonetheless. I added a tiny more vodka 'for maximum effect!' :-) I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I would give this a 5 star, except that the mozzarella clumped up pretty bad when I mixed the sauce with the pasta. The taste was wonderful though!!! I'm actually going to make this again tonight, but I'm going to use parmesan cheese instead. I also added a few handfuls of chopped fresh spinach to easy my conscience. It was a very nice addition to the flavor, texture, and appearance. Like other reviews, I cooked down the tomatoes more (I used fresh), substituted olive oil for the butter and used less heavy cream. Easy recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Delicious. I added more garlic and some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Awesome!! the only thing that I would change is adding some flour to the garlic as it cooks, that way the sauce will be thicker. Everyone loved it! lots of leftovers even when I changed the serving to 4. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I thought that this recipe, while quick and easy, made far too much sauce and the taste of the vodka came out way too strong for my taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Excellent, wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States