Penne with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Pretty good recipe. I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried parsley. Didn't notice a difference. Also used mozarella instead of parmesan (also lacking..) and it turned out great. To satify our spicy buds, I added few teaspoons of cayenne and 1 tbsp of crushed red peppers. I may cut down on the olive oil next time to be healthier..great recipe!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Yum! We really liked it. Well, my husband and I did. The 10 year old thought it was so-so, the six year old did not like it, and the baby ate a few of the noodles. The only substitution was dried parsley, we didn't have any fresh on hand. So in my opinion it is more of an "adult" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Quick and easy with lots of room for variations...I added some steamed broccoli and crushed red pepper for an extra little kick. My hubby is a trained chef and really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Easy, quick, and yummy! I added a little extra garlic and garnished with fresh basil instead of parsley, but otherwise followed the recipe. I couldn't believe how yummy it was for something so easy! Even my 19 month old devoured it. But I should point out that it contains 1/4 cup of oil and 1 T. of butter and 1/4 cup of cheese. Almost anything is going to taste good with that much fat mixed in! :) So although it's vegetarian, it's not health food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I crushed the garlic and used 1/2 butter, 1/2 olive oil. It was OK, a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I made this last night for dinner and my husband and kids loved it, even the picky five year old. The only thing I changed was the type of pasta- I used cheese tortellini instead of the penne pasta, and it was still great! Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as the recipe instructed--no additions or changes as other reviewers made--and I thought it was just okay. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
We really liked this. I doubled the recipe for company and added more garlic than called for (LOVE it). I also cut up boneless chicken breasts and cooked them in olive oil to add to the pasta. I also used grated and lots of shredded parmesan cheese to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe - easy and tasty. Only change I made was to add 3/4 pound peeled/deveined cooked shrimp when the mushrooms were almost done. My picky husband gobbled it down and came back for more. I'll be making it again soon. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this over the weekend, and served it with the "Italian Breaded Pork Chops" recipe from this site. My family loved it! I used baby bellas (as suggested by another reviewer), and added some chopped fresh basil and spinach as well. In addition, I added a little evaporated skim milk to make a bit of a creamy sauce (without having to feel too guilty about the calories). Very good - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States