Penne with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Add beef or shrimp and this side dish becomes a main meal. Once the mushrooms were tender (I used portabella), I added cooked shrimp and heated a few minutes before adding the pasta. An even heartier meal is cooking strips of beef with the mushrooms. Both ways were delicious. I've made this many times for it's become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Instead of 1lb button mushrooms I substituted half for a gourmet blend (baby bella, shiitake and oyster sliced mushrooms) and half button mushrooms. I think it added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this for a party and everyone loved it! It reheated well for the next couple days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I found it to be a little wanting - but my husband seemed to really like it. I thnk we both just really prefer a more substantial sauce so that there is more "flavor" for the noodles. Do try this though - if you aren't huge on sauce I think you will LOVE this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLoyFam0309

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I loved this dish. I thought it would be bland but it was great. I added two cloves of garlic and salt and peppered to taste and added some garlic powder at the end to taste. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Great Recipe! I will definitely make it again. Will be great to add a few veggies or some meat if I want to, but it doesn't NEED it. I made a few minor alterations - I added the butter about a minute into cooking the mushrooms and I also added a few splashes of dry vermouth towards the end of cooking the mushrooms. (thats the way my mom has always made mushrooms, so it is sort of a habit in our house to make them that way). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Good - I used extra garlic, and I don't measure the Parm cheese or parsley. I add those to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This recipe was easy to make. I followed it exactly though I did use Barilla Whole Grain pasta. The end result was good I thought but not excellent-- sort of bland. Maybe some wine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
My family loved it! It was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This recipe is so easy and sooooo good. I did add more garlic and parmesan cheese. I also used dried parsley instead of fresh, and I didn't use the butter (simply because I forgot). It was awesome. My son (who is not a big mushroom person) asked for more, so needless to say, I'll be doubling the recipe next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States