Penne with Ham, Mushrooms and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
We enjoyed this recipe for dinner. I halved the recipe and it was plenty for two of us for dinner as well as some leftover. I think perhaps there is a little too much pasta for the amount of sauce. I did forget the lemon juice accidentally. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Modified with capers for mushrooms and parmesan/romano cheeses, light cream diluted with milk, frozen peas steamed in the bag. No chili flakes or lemon juice. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This recipe was wonderful. Omitted chili flakes and used regular shredded cheddar. Couldn't stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is another winning recipe that I have found on AllRecipes.com. The only part that I changed was the cheddar cheese. I couldn't fine the smoked cheddar so I used regular sharp cheddar and it came out very good. I'll look harder for the smoked cheddar the next time I plan on making this. I'd like to know if it improves an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The whole family really enjoyed this (because I left out the parsley for my son.) The smoked cheddar gives good depth to the flavor that regular cheddar would not have. To reduce the amount of fat, replace 1 cup of cream with 1 cup of home-made stock and 4 tsp of flour. This produces a nice creamy finish on the pasta without the heaviness. I also had honey- baked ham too. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This was delicious and quick! I didn't add the ham or peas (didn't have any in the fridge at the time) but made it with spinach instead and sharp cheddar cheese. I think it was even better! Really creamy and if you're a spinach lover, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used this recipe as a starting point, and we loved the results! I used about 3/4 pound of whole wheat pasta which worked well. I had leftover cooked asparagus that I chopped into 1 inch pieces and used instead of peas. And instead of 2 cups of cream, I added 1 tbsp of flour to the mix before adding the liquid, then used about 1/3 cup of half and half and 1 2/3 cup of chicken broth. I'm sure it wasn't as rich as the original recipe, but the taste was great. And I did garnish with parsley and lemon juice. Great way to use leftover Easter ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I thought this was a good base recipe. I cooked the peas with the pasta then added both to the sauce mixture. Used Parmesan cheese and half and half and still got a nice, creamy consistent sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States