Penne with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times, almost exactly as written except for adding an onion and using chopped sundried tomatoes instead of a paste. I have to say it always takes me a lot longer than 5 minutes to make the eggplant soft. And you really do have to dice it finely to be able to cook it well in a pan; I guess that should have been obvious, but I had to learn from experience. Excellent pasta dish, I keep coming back to it! And yummy as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
3 stars as-is. I will make this again and add in some sweet sausage and it would be perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a great meatless meal. I had to make minor adjustments to utilize items on hand. I used pesto instead of sun-dried tomato spread and whole wheat thin spaghetti instead of penne, added sauteed onions and bell peppers from the garden. Excellent dish that will definately be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I couldn't find sundried tomato spread, so I used chopped fresh tomatoes. And I added chopped onions and a little bit of red wine. We loved it! Delicious, and since I doubled the recipe, I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I love eggplant & this dish was great. I added some anchovy paste as another reviewer suggested - wonderful! I served it with brown rice, cause that's what I had on hand, and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Very tasty option for pasta. We love eggplant and can never find enough things to use it in. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
We'll go back and make variations on this one! We used a jarred marinara sauce instead of the tomato called for, and added mushrooms. The end result was wonderful, especially topped with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Castroville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was just okay. I had higher expectations I guess. The eggplant was too tough after cooking it, maybe if you peel the skin and then cook it will be more tender? Also, this dish could def use some meat, I will use hamburger next time, it was just too plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Fixed this tonight. I did not have any sundries tomato paste so I substituted fresh tomatoes. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wonderful, quick, all the ingredients normally on hand. I did add 12 ounces of ground beef sauteed before adding the eggplant and garlic. Also used leftover brown rice instead of the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States