Penne with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Used 1/3 eggplant and added 1 zucchini. Otherwise, followed the recipe but sprinkled with shredded Parmesan at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shenelle Thompson
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Well I made quite a few changes which were addig cheddar cheese and corned beef to help stretch the meal. I hope to make it exactly as the recipe one day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shenelle Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Fixed this recipe last night. I substituted Japanese eggplant (which are naturally smaller) and it worked wonderfully. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Koganei, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times, almost exactly as written except for adding an onion and using chopped sundried tomatoes instead of a paste. I have to say it always takes me a lot longer than 5 minutes to make the eggplant soft. And you really do have to dice it finely to be able to cook it well in a pan; I guess that should have been obvious, but I had to learn from experience. Excellent pasta dish, I keep coming back to it! And yummy as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
3 stars as-is. I will make this again and add in some sweet sausage and it would be perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a great meatless meal. I had to make minor adjustments to utilize items on hand. I used pesto instead of sun-dried tomato spread and whole wheat thin spaghetti instead of penne, added sauteed onions and bell peppers from the garden. Excellent dish that will definately be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I couldn't find sundried tomato spread, so I used chopped fresh tomatoes. And I added chopped onions and a little bit of red wine. We loved it! Delicious, and since I doubled the recipe, I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I love eggplant & this dish was great. I added some anchovy paste as another reviewer suggested - wonderful! I served it with brown rice, cause that's what I had on hand, and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Very tasty option for pasta. We love eggplant and can never find enough things to use it in. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
We'll go back and make variations on this one! We used a jarred marinara sauce instead of the tomato called for, and added mushrooms. The end result was wonderful, especially topped with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Castroville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States