Penne with Chicken and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Delicious, and my 3 year old ate asparagus willingly for the first time! My DH struck his nose up and ate plain noodles for dinner...his loss! We are sauce lovers here, so I whipped up a cheese sauce. After cooking the chicken, I added 1 1/2 c. Water and a cube of chicken bouillon to the pan, simmered until the bouillon dissolved, then drained all but half a cup from the pan before steaming the asparagus. Then I removed the asparagus, returned the rest of the broth to the pan and added about 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese (the powdered kind, it's all I had on hand) and about a tsp of flour. I whisked that together over a medium heat and let it simmer until thickened, then spooned it over the chicken/asparagus/penne. It was delicious! If I had to do it again I'd probably have real parmesan, but I really didn't feel like running to the store just for cheese! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Schneider Noy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Used about 1/4 tsp. salt, pepper and garlic powder each on chicken and again on asparagus. Used 12 oz. gluten free penne pasta. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Delicious and versatile! I usually make a recipe shortly after it’s saved to the recipe box but this one went missing for a couple of years. Finally got around to making it and it was a terrific meal. The leftovers are equally as good. Only changes were I upped the chicken stock to one cup and added 4 oz. of fresh chopped button mushrooms in step 3. I seasoned the dish with Penzy’s ® Mural of Flavor seasoning. Blend includes shallots, onion, garlic, lemon peel, citric acid, chives and orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this just like it calls, but I added broccoli and I used the veggie pasta to get some more veggies in here (even if only a little bit), and I thought it was great! It was filling, and yet was light. I would recommend making this if you get a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is a great recipe. If you love to cook, then you are creative in your own way and each recipe is a suggestion on which you can create your own taste. I love that this recipe is light and simple. If you feel like you want to create something from it, you can add lemon juice, zest and cream, or red pepper flakes, or Cajun seasoning and crawfish (minus the chicken), or just veggies. Good job Laurel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Have done this recipe with chicken and also with strips of good steak (using beef base instead of chicken of course.) Wonderful both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndrewJ
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This was wonderful. I made this recipe last week for me and a friend and we both loved it. This was a perfect pasta dish for me. It was a light dish but it definitely fills you up without making you feel like you gained 20 pounds. I used Minced Garlic from a jar since I had it on hand and I also seasoned the chicken breast with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and some Italian seasoning before hand and then cut it up instead of adding the seasonings while the chicken cooked. I served it with some freshly made garlic bread and it really hit the spot. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pcgirl077
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Amazing! I added mushrooms and red bell pepper! Even my kids loved it! Two thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I have made this twice, the first time I made it as directed. The second time I switched the garlic powder for garlic salt instead. I used three cloves of garlic, I also used linguini the second time only because thats what I had in the house at the time. I liked it much better the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
fantastic dish, made this last night we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States