Penne with Chicken and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Okay, so I posted this recipe but I wanted to let you all know that I added sauted mushrooms to the mix and it came out even better. Also for those of you wanting a sauce type of pasta dish this is not for you. It is very lite and any of the broth mixture gets sucked up into the pasta while you have it sit for 5 minutes. If it is too bland just add more galic powder and salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
526 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Seems like I'm doing these reviews every night lately! I'm really enjoying cooking, thats for sure! But what I did was... Chopped the asp. into 1 in. pieces and boiled it in my pasta water for a few while it came to a boil. Then I drained it into a bowl so I was able to reserve the hot water; then added the pasta back to it. Grilled my chicken breast seasoned w/ poultry seasoning, s&p. on my little indoor grill for a few,(I like the chix to have a little golden color) then cut it up & added it to evoo that had been sauteeing garlic and onion. Added the chix, asp., sqz of lemon juice, chopped a few roasted red peppers (out of a jar, "RAO'S" brand.. yum) 1/2 of a chopped tomato, 1/4 cup of chix broth, about 1/4 cup of cream cheese and a spash of milk & parm chz. That really helped make it creamier, although there still wasnt too much sauce, but thats fine w/ me. Makes it feel "lighter"! Thats about it, I snuck in a few red pepper flakes & tossed it all w/ the pasta! Perfect! My kids gobbled it down w/out complaint! Although they are pretty good eaters. Their favorite food is calamari, and they love the tenacles! My friends are soo jealous of how my kids eat! Guess I'm doing something right! Enjoy! Laura from AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Yeah! A meal that both the parents and the kids (ages 3 & 5) will eat! I added a can (drained)artichoke hearts when the asparagus was steaming. I didn't have any chicken broth so I threw in a cube of chicken bouillon to 1.5 cups of water. When the pasta is mixed in the penne drank up all of the broth - so there was really no sauce. I offered crushed red peppers on the side for the adults and plenty of parmesan for the kiddos! And everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Not bad! I used whole wheat pasta and also added some broccoli, some red peppers and the mushrooms. Definitely needs 3-4 cloves of fresh sauteed garlic (not just powder.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This pasta recipe is simply wonderful. I made only a few changes, I used Mrs Dash seasoning on the chicken and added two tablespoons of butter to the finished asparagus and chicken. I highly recommend this simple and elegant dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This was a nice change from all the creamy pasta dishes. I did use 3 chicken breast and only 12 oz penne pasta. It turned out perfect for a quick summertime meal that doesn't make you feel like you packed on 10 lbs over dinner.:) Thanks Laurel B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEN9903

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
THE MOST AMAZING THING EVER!!! I loved this dish. I did alter it ( I am sure it great the way it was posted, but I wanted something creamier). After I cooked the chicken ( I marinated it in italian dressing before cooking) I cooked the asparagus in 1 c broth, minced garlic, salt and pepper but only for like 3 minutes because I wanted it pretty crispy. Then I sprained out the asparagus, leaving broth in the sauce pan and added 3 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese and about 1/4 cup milk. I whisked this until smooth then added the chicken and asparagus then coated it. Then I added the pasta and topped with more parmesan cheese. I seriously had 3 helpings of it and want to eat more. I am going to try it the original way next time, but for a wintery comfort food it was AMAZING (if I do say so myself)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
A little bland. I added sun dried tomatoes and artichoke hearts when I cooked the chicken to zest it up. Also added a bit of italian seasoning to the chicken broth when I steamed the asparagus. Next time I may make it with a bit more of a cream sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was tasty. I sauteed onions and garlic first and then added the chicken for more flavor. And I used frozen broccoli florets instead of asparagus since I didn't have any fresh veggies. My kids put mozzarella cheese on top and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Easy and simple recipe with delicious results. I've never included asperagus with pasta before so this was a first and I was pleasantly suprised. We used whole-wheat pasta and followed the rest of the directions as written. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anghill79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States