Penne, Tomato, and Mozzarella Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This recipe was bland as written but I made a few modifications based on reviews: I sauteed 3 garlic cloves, used drained diced tomatoes, added some oregano, basil and pepper. I let that simmer for a few minutes and then added spinach. I tossed the pasta with the tomatoes/spinach mixture and then I added fresh mozzarella. After I tasted it, it was still to bland for me so I tossed the batch with a balsamic vinagrette and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
Very good but I served it cold. A salad to me is cold. It had a very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
This is good, but a little bland as is, although I don't like olives so I leave them out. We like it better as a cold pasta salad after the flavors meld more. As others, I added more garlic. I also added some red wine vinegar (approx. 2 T), more tomatoes, and some uncooked green onions, now it has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I definetly listened to previous comments and I'm really glad I did cause it turned out great! I split the recipe in half. Added 4 times as many olives as the original, used 2 garlic cloves, cut some small bell pepper wedges and sauteed them with the onion and garlic. I also added about a 1/2 cup of kraft italian dressing and 2 T of vinegar. Plus extra pepper and salt, and garlic salt. I didn't heat up the ingredients though, but kept it as a cold salad and let it sit in the refridgerator for 2 hours before serving. Magnificent! (I could see how this could be a warm salad, but only if the cheese was heated just to soft - not melted.) A great summer pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother2Be

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I served this at a party and eventhough I doubled the recipe we still ran out fast! I substituted bowtie pasta, and lots of marinated mozzarella. I also used extra garlic and salt to taste. I forgot the parmesan but it was still great. My whole neighborhood wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I thought Holly could have been more thorough in the instructions. Dont know if the mozzarella was supposed to be melted or in chunks. Overall taste was a bit bland, next time I would use a lighter pasta, maybe bow ties, add more garlic and scallions and be sure not to melt the mozzarella. Needs a few improvements but overall preet good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was so good, my family loved it. Just like other reviews, I changed the recipe a little bit. Instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used two cans of diced tomatoes and no olives and added extra cheese, didn't use mozzarella, and added some fried tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great standard penne, tomato, and mozzerella recipe. I doubled the garlic and added oregano and that may have helped avoid the bland warning.;) I also added chicken breast chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Good recipe, I would add some white balsamic vinegar for some more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was delicious. But, like many others, I sort of made the recipe my own! I used a different pasta (trottole- 16oz). I didn't use fresh basil because it was too expensive. I just added dried basil to the sauce I made for it (about 1/4 cup olive oil with about a 1/3 of red wine vinegar, dash of salt and pepper (or to taste)). I mixed the sauce in with the chopped veggies And then added it to the fresh cooked pasta. I stirred that around to make sure it was dressed nicely, and then added about 3/4 cup of parmesan and a bit more mozzarella than it called for. Added a bit more salt and pepper and it was perfect! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States