Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
It was ok, but definitely not great. I felt the tomato flavor was too overwhelming and trying to mash the whole tomatoes was quite cumbersome. I also felt like the flavors never truly came all together and blended. I could taste every ingredient, but it didn't mesh very well. Perhaps with a few modifications this may be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANAMAUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I LOVED this recipe! I followed it all the way, but added the basil and cheese to the pasta at the end, not the sauce. I really like the kick the peppers and prosuitto give the sauce.. will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is very good. I paired it with Abby's Chicken Rollatini and it was fantastic. I used half and half instead of heavy cream and it was fine. Next time I think I would increase the prosciutto. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This recipe went over very big in my picky household. It rivaled anything you could get in the best Italian restaurant. The only changes I made were to use dried basil because I didn't have fresh, and I added the parm cheese directly to the hot pasta before I added the sauce. My family actually begged for leftovers - which they never do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I substituted cooking sherry for vodka (we were out of vodka) and used light cream cheese instead of half and half. Then skipped the crushed pepper and parmesan cheese. Wonderful flavor!!! A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We really liked the unique taste of this pasta dish. Made a few changes because of what we had on hand but basically stuck to the original recipe, used 1/2 cup of half and half, Italian stewed tomatoes, whole wheat penne and spicy Italian sausage - will try a different sausage next time as well as more seasoning. Thks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This dish was excellent!!! It had the spicy kick that I love. I preferred smaller pieces of tomatoes. I did cut them up but, I will buy diced next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This is a great dish, quick, easy and delicious. The one thing I changed is I added 1/2 bow tie pasta with 1/2 3-cheese tortilini and that made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Great ! A keeper ! Flavors blended even better the day after. Tasty !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I made this the other night for my family and we all LOVED LOVED LOVED it!!! My six year old son also begged to take the leftovers to school in his lunchbox. It was so so easy and very tasty. The only thing I did any differently was to use four HUGE cloves of garlic (because we love garlic), and I do agree that the shredded parmesan cheese did clump up with the other ingredients, but even this we didn't mind because the taste was so wonderful. It seemed at the time like a lot of vodka to use (especially for the kids), but it didn't have a vodka taste at all. We all loved this and will be using this recipe over and over! I can't get over how simple it was to make since it was so delicious, it tasted more complex. Thanks so much for this great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States