Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Great pasta dish! Only changed up a couple of things as other raters suggested: Added sauted mushrooms & onions, Italian Seasoning, about 1/8 cup dried basil and petite diced tomatoes rather than whole peeled tomatoes. I would definately recommend this recipe, but with a side salad and french bread it serves more like 6 plus. I first made this and reviewed it in July above, I've now made this recipe at least 8 more times. I have tried the Half & Half in place of the heavy cream, trying to cut the calories and after having it made with the heavy cream, the Half & Half just doesn't give it the same flavor or body. I recommend sticking to the heavy cream if possible. After making this so many times and trying different alterations, I now have it perfected to family & friends taste and have had to give the receipe to everyone that I've made it for. Other than the above suggestions I have one more recommendation. Either cut back on the amount of pasta or increase the amount of sauce. I haven't been measuring the exact amount of pasta, but I leave about an 1 1/2 to 2" in the box and use the rest. This is still a 5 star recipe and truly the best Italian pasta dish I have ever made - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Wonderful! I cooked some italian turkey sausage and added it at the end. It turned out well. The cheese was a bit clumpy but it was still a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I made this tonight for my mother's birthday dinner and it was fantastic! I tweaked the recipe a tiny bit, but I basically kept it all the same. I cut about 5 chicken breasts in chunks, seasoned them with a tiny bit of salt, pepper, and garlic, heated up a bit of olive oil in the pan and added the chicken. I let the chicken brown on one side and just cooked it a tiny bit on the other. I removed the chicken from the pan and put it in a bowl covered with a plate to keep the steam in. Then I followed the recipe only I added half a medium onion to the garlic and prosciutto and I used a big can and small can of diced tomatoes... I used 1/2 cup of Grey Goose, instead of a full cup...It came out sooo GOOD! The next time I make this I am going to do a big can of crushed tomatoes and a small can of diced to make the sauce a tiny bit thicker, but it should have the same taste and I might add a bit more proscutto the next time too...I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This was good. I did however have a problem with my cheese clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was delish! Next time I would buy better quality Vodka (I thought since I was cooking I didn't need to-mistake). I loved the warmth added from the chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Made this recipe and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I made this for my family, and everyone loved it!! Even my 4 year old nephew!!! I highly recommend it! Delicious and easy to make!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this, along with Abby's Chicken Rollatini, for my boyfriend. He loved it. I followed the recipe, except I mixed the parm with the hot noodles instead of in the sauce, as suggested by other readers. It was excellent! I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalisa99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremond, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I've made this twice over the past few weeks. Delicious! The second time I used white wine instead of vodka, but I preferred the vodka. I will add this to my "easy but good enough for company" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Great recipe. Made with Abby's Chicken Rollatini for a dinner party. Everyone raved. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Striffler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States