Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Great pasta dish! Only changed up a couple of things as other raters suggested: Added sauted mushrooms & onions, Italian Seasoning, about 1/8 cup dried basil and petite diced tomatoes rather than whole peeled tomatoes. I would definately recommend this recipe, but with a side salad and french bread it serves more like 6 plus. I first made this and reviewed it in July above, I've now made this recipe at least 8 more times. I have tried the Half & Half in place of the heavy cream, trying to cut the calories and after having it made with the heavy cream, the Half & Half just doesn't give it the same flavor or body. I recommend sticking to the heavy cream if possible. After making this so many times and trying different alterations, I now have it perfected to family & friends taste and have had to give the receipe to everyone that I've made it for. Other than the above suggestions I have one more recommendation. Either cut back on the amount of pasta or increase the amount of sauce. I haven't been measuring the exact amount of pasta, but I leave about an 1 1/2 to 2" in the box and use the rest. This is still a 5 star recipe and truly the best Italian pasta dish I have ever made - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Wonderful! I cooked some italian turkey sausage and added it at the end. It turned out well. The cheese was a bit clumpy but it was still a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I made this tonight for my mother's birthday dinner and it was fantastic! I tweaked the recipe a tiny bit, but I basically kept it all the same. I cut about 5 chicken breasts in chunks, seasoned them with a tiny bit of salt, pepper, and garlic, heated up a bit of olive oil in the pan and added the chicken. I let the chicken brown on one side and just cooked it a tiny bit on the other. I removed the chicken from the pan and put it in a bowl covered with a plate to keep the steam in. Then I followed the recipe only I added half a medium onion to the garlic and prosciutto and I used a big can and small can of diced tomatoes... I used 1/2 cup of Grey Goose, instead of a full cup...It came out sooo GOOD! The next time I make this I am going to do a big can of crushed tomatoes and a small can of diced to make the sauce a tiny bit thicker, but it should have the same taste and I might add a bit more proscutto the next time too...I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This was good. I did however have a problem with my cheese clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was delish! Next time I would buy better quality Vodka (I thought since I was cooking I didn't need to-mistake). I loved the warmth added from the chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Made this recipe and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I made this for my family, and everyone loved it!! Even my 4 year old nephew!!! I highly recommend it! Delicious and easy to make!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this, along with Abby's Chicken Rollatini, for my boyfriend. He loved it. I followed the recipe, except I mixed the parm with the hot noodles instead of in the sauce, as suggested by other readers. It was excellent! I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalisa99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremond, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I've made this twice over the past few weeks. Delicious! The second time I used white wine instead of vodka, but I preferred the vodka. I will add this to my "easy but good enough for company" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Great recipe. Made with Abby's Chicken Rollatini for a dinner party. Everyone raved. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States