Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was awesome.. romantic dinner accomplished
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Oh my! This was so good. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of accidentally using two LARGE 28 oz cans of tomatoes instead of the 16 oz cans. Instead of penne, I used mafalda pasta. In spite of the extra tomatoes, it was a delicious dish. I didn't drain the tomatoes and so allowed the sauce to simmer a little longer. The original recipe states that it makes four servings but we found it to be more like eight servings. If the calorie content is daunting, keep in mind that the serving size is huge as written. This is definitely something to keep in mind for a dinner party. Also, if you have a loved one who can't eat onions, this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I mainly order vodka sauce in Italian restaurants for a while now, but I've had some that was terrific and some that was really terrible - this is as good as I've had. I am so proud of myself!! I used rotelle pasta- it's not an elegant presentation, but it holds on to the sauce extremely well. Also used white wine - alas, no vodka on hand - I don't notice a difference.. Also used 2 large fresh tomatoes instead of canned, they didn't look promising at all, but they certainly went to good use! I loved it, thanks, Marianne! No more trips to the Italian market just for vodka sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is such an incredible recipe! Quick, easy, impressive to those who you cook for, and most importantly, super YUMMY! Thank you for this great recipe, I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie_cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My 9yr. old helped me make this. Served it with Abby's Chicken Rollatini. Made a great side dish. Everyone loved it even my picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME!! My 18 year old was looking for an easy Penne a la Vodka recipe and this was it! The only substitution was dried basil instead of fresh, other than that followed the recipe exactly and it was really delicious! The only recommendation for a new cook would be to make sure you add the parmesan cheese after you remove from the heat, my son didn't realize this but it was still great anyway. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
For me it turned out quite bland, I was sooooo disappointed! I was really looking forward to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I didn't change anything. Only problem was I thought I had a little too much penne so I didn't use all of it with the sauce. I also thought the sauce could have been thicker, so maybe I'll add a little cornstarch next time. I was skeptical about the flavor with so few ingredients, but it turned out pretty good! I might add onions next time, or do half vodka, half white wine - just something to add more flavor. To really complete this dish, add chicken! I marinated some chicken strips in Italian salad dressing for 1-2 hours, put on the Foreman grill for 7 minutes, and placed the strips on top of the bowls of pasta. It was a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Ok, it's been a while since I made this, but, thank goodness I take good notes : ) Made this for myself one Friday evening (my bf had plans or else I wouldn't have made it - he doesn't care for vodka sauce). I thought this was "OK". Certainly not deserving of 5 stars IMHO. A good friend of mine (who is a GREAT Italian cook) makes her vodka sauce with crushed tomatoes (only change made), so I decided to make mine with crushed as well (28 oz. can). I think that may have ruined this recipe.... Regardless, I didn't care for the taste, but maybe it's just me (vodka sauce is not my favorite, but I DO enjoy it from time to time). I could barely taste the prosciutto or basil (which is unusual as basil imparts a strong flavor). After purchasing all of the ingredients, this turned out to be a very expensive meal for one, especially considering that I didn't eat the leftovers. Thank goodness I had vodka on hand (Smirnoff). My grocery bill would have doubled!!! Served with a Pepperidge Farms Artisan Rosemary olive oil mini loaf (found in my grocer's frozen section). Edible, but won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Yummy, yummy, yummy! I substituted chorizo sausage for the prosciutto and I didn't have cream so I added some sun-dried tomato alfredo sauce. Also added some red pepper flakes to the mix. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States