Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I really liked this recipe, although I modified it using what I had in the house. I left out the heavy cream, used white wine instead of vodka, angel hair instead of penne, and added more italian spices (oregano, thyme, etc). I liked it a lot... it turned out more like an arrabiata sauce, but it had a lot fewer calories, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Delicious! An easy dish to throw together quickly for guests, but tastier and more impressive than your standard tomato sauce. This was my first time cooking with proscuitto, and though skeptical, it added a lot to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This recipe is everything and more....It is easy, quick and oh so very very delicious. My family asked when we would have it again. Super AAA+ Thanks for the posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Very good recipe. I thought the sauce would never thicken, but it did! We served it with our favourite "bucatini" pasta. We also made a simple ceasar salad to serve with it. I think it will be very nice to add some shrimps! A keeper, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARODUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
So quick and easy and delicious! Great way to use all those tomatoes from the garden, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
The whole family gobbled this up! I doubled the prosciutto (wanted to use it up), and omitted the red pepper flakes for fear it would be too spicy for the children. I reduced the tomato mixture quite a bit before adding the vodka and cream (used fat free 1/2&1/2)...probably 15-20 minutes. I also added 2 Tbsp capers and 1/4 frozen peas when I added the vodka and cream. I also made this with whole wheat penne. I did not add the basil as directed because of picky children, so I just topped the adults bowl with a few chopped basil leaves. A definite repeater in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Was not horrible, but definitely would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKYD20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This is exactly how the writer says it. This is a great recipe. I would make it for company. Very impressive and really easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Fabulous flavours! We've made this many times now. The only change we make is to add more prosciutto and garlic. Quality parmigiano reggiano makes a huge difference. So easy and delicious. Thanks Marianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhappe
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
this was completely delicious, but i did make a few changes because of what was in the house. I used cayenne pepper instead of the pepper flakes, and i only used an 1/4 t (and boy was it spicy!) i used vanilla vodka, because it was all we had, and i used 3 oz of meat because that's the smallest package it came it at the store! I also used rigatoni pasta because we had it, and we thickened the sauce with a slurry of flour and water. I will be making this one again, but next time i will also make it with rolls to sop up the delicious sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States