Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This was fantastic...it was easy to make, I didn't have fresh spinach...but I had some I made yesterday, so I used that, I wouldn't hesitate to used frozen either. I didn't have a can of tomatoes, so I used fresh. I used the microwaveable bacon..I added a little more Olive Oil too.I also added black pepper, the bacon takes care of the salt very nicely. We sprinkled some Parmesian cheese to finish...It's addicting. Substitutions are easy, I dont think you can ruin this one..My husband is picky...he ate it and went back for more. My son raved about it. This is now one meal I will keep on my list of favorites...It looks beautiful also..very nice to serve for last minute guests...I just made a salad and everyone was happy...especially me because it was easy and quick besides delicious. Thanks to Superman's mom for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Wonderful. The aroma from just cooking this made the whole family hungry. Awesome with a seasoned chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I loved this, my teenage daughter loved this, but my hubby and son were "it's okay". Regardless, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I got this recipe the other day and had to try it. It was fantastic! My three year old grandson ate it, all of it including the spinach. My husband kept going back for more and my daughter loved it also, which is saying a lot. The only thing I did differently was used seasoned diced tomatoes instead of just plain. I believe I used the oregano, basil and garlic, since I could not find the Italian seasoned. Spectacular! Not only does it taste good but is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I would give this recipe 5 stars only if served with feta cheese crumbled over, as suggested by a previous reviewer - a delicious combination. Some freshly milled black pepper and a bit of freshly grated parmesan is nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I make a variation of this recipe. I use steamed broccoli instead of the spinach. I cook bacon, remove, drain and crumble. After cooking garlic and tomatoes, I add the crumbled bacon and steamed broccoli and toss all with penne pasta, served with a sprinkle of Parmesan or Feta cheese, (depending on what I have on hand). Served with a green salad and hot French bread, you have a complete, quick, easy and nutritious meal that have people coming back for second helpings. Great for informal get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
loved it~!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I made this last night and my fiancee thought it was so good. I liked it because it was easy and had a lot of flavor. I improvised a little bit and used mini penne pasta, turkey bacon and added a big spoonful of sundried tomatoes, sliced mushrooms and grilled chicken. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was a big hit with everyone. I did add the feta cheese that was suggested, and it was a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
My husband, myself, and a couple of our friends loved this recipe. It's easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States