Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This recipe turned out great, with one fairly major change on my part. Mine is not a tomato-friendly household (neither of us can stand the things!) so I used a small jar of sliced roasted red peppers (drained) in place of the tomatoes. I sprinkled some crumbled Feta cheese over the top just before serving and it was a great, light meal. I also used this basic idea for a pasta side dish, except I used orzo in place of penne and I sliced the spinach chiffonnade-style to make the leaf size more suited to the pasta. Great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Very tasty and quick. I followed the recipe exactly. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is a great dish, and is so easy that it has replaced my default pasta dinner of spaghetti with ground beef in tomato sauce (you know, the dinner you make when you're too tired to think about cooking anything else!). I've also made this with pancetta and sweet italian sausage (crumbled & browned), and it is divine. To CALGRET1: I drain the bacon grease before adding the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This was fantastic...it was easy to make, I didn't have fresh spinach...but I had some I made yesterday, so I used that, I wouldn't hesitate to used frozen either. I didn't have a can of tomatoes, so I used fresh. I used the microwaveable bacon..I added a little more Olive Oil too.I also added black pepper, the bacon takes care of the salt very nicely. We sprinkled some Parmesian cheese to finish...It's addicting. Substitutions are easy, I dont think you can ruin this one..My husband is picky...he ate it and went back for more. My son raved about it. This is now one meal I will keep on my list of favorites...It looks beautiful also..very nice to serve for last minute guests...I just made a salad and everyone was happy...especially me because it was easy and quick besides delicious. Thanks to Superman's mom for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Wonderful. The aroma from just cooking this made the whole family hungry. Awesome with a seasoned chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I loved this, my teenage daughter loved this, but my hubby and son were "it's okay". Regardless, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
first shot was ok but a little...lacking? second try i added one small onion, one small green pepper, dash or two of red pepper flakes, some basil, and didn't do the draining of pasta over spinich, it wilts just fine on it's own. Love the second version and will make it many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Z06PDX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I got this recipe the other day and had to try it. It was fantastic! My three year old grandson ate it, all of it including the spinach. My husband kept going back for more and my daughter loved it also, which is saying a lot. The only thing I did differently was used seasoned diced tomatoes instead of just plain. I believe I used the oregano, basil and garlic, since I could not find the Italian seasoned. Spectacular! Not only does it taste good but is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I had to add a little salt and pepper, but other than that, I really enjoyed this dish. It's easy, and light, and is great the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was very easy to fix and I liked it. I had it for the evening meal and then for lunch the next day. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States