Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
We love this recipe. Came home at 6:20 and had it on the table by 6:55. I used pre-cooked bacon though but still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Glennie
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was a great recipe! I made this for myself for lunch minus the bacon(I dont eat beef or pork). I also used wheat pasta, fresh parm and fresh parsley. I'll try zucchini next time. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Glennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very yummy! I was excited to try this, and it did not disappoint. Low sodium bacon instead of regular was the only change I made. I'll make this again for sure, I'd like to try serving it cold at a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Very nice flavor, just had to drain the bacon to keep it from being too greasy and next time I will add less tomatoes (possibly half a can). other than that it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
light and fresh. Boyfriend complained about lack of meat, but that can always be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Awesome as given! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
A family favorite! I use almost a pound of bacon and a whole box of penne with two cans of diced tomatoes for my large family. I add shaved parmesean at the end and then offer it to sprinkle at the table. This is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We loved it - we even added in some mushrooms and some fresh basil the second time around to give it our own twist. I think a lot of the low reviews saying "Noodle heavy" you're not looking at how much you're adding, you see 1 Bag and assume it's 12oz, while MOST pasta is actually sold in 2-3x that quantity. Please be careful when you are measuring things. We do 1/2 of a 900g bag of pasta which is just over the 12oz. And don't drain your bacon. I know what you're thinking - just don't. You lose a lot of flavour doing that. You don't need to add anything into your bacon to cook it. Bacon + pan + low heat. It won't stick, you won't need to add oil because as it heats up the fat cooks out. Then when you add in everything else it blends and mixes. The bacon ended up being so tender and everything was wonderful. I agree with other reviewer. You can't complain about a recipe if you've changed most of it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Jewell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My family really liked this....a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovelygrl222
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Really great and simple recipe! I followed another reviewer's suggestions to change it up a little bit. I used an entire package of bacon (about 1 lb) and removed as much fat as possible while chopping it up. Add in a small onion or half an onion to accompany the garlic. When adding the diced tomatoes to the batch I also added the spinach to cook it more than just a slight wilt underneath the cooked pasta. The other reviewer added in dried basil, it really made a difference! Once everything was mixed I topped it off with parmesan cheese and crushed red pepper. Next time I make this I'm adding another bunch of spinach for sure, that's how much I love spinach. There are definitely a ton of different ways to make this a bit different and still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelygrl222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States