Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Wow. This was great. I used thick pepper bacon and added more than the recipe called for. Since I used extra bacon I took some of the bacon grease out. Unfortunately extra bacon makes extra grease. For the pasta I used Barilla Plus Penne Pasta. I served it with garlic bread and passed a grater and block of Parmesan Reggiano around the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I varied a bit with ingredients by using Italian sausage instead of bacon, added some finely minced shallot to the garlic and threw quite a few artichokes in their oil instead of using the second tbs of olive oil. Once it was all combined I topped with an Italian cheese blend I had in the fridge, covered the pan and let it melt. The whole meal was finished in 15 minutes!! Thanks for a fabulous inspiration and idea!! Looked and tasted like something I slaved over, this one is going in the books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
KC* uses 8 oz. penne, 4 slices bacon, 10 oz. pkd frozen chopped spinach, 1 cup finely chopped onion, 3/4 cup dry white wine and 1 10 oz. container light Alfredo sauce. Cook bacon, then onion in bacon drippings Add wine and stir to partly evaporate the wine. Add drained spinach and alfredo to skillet. Add pasta and bacon and mix. Parmesan would be good on this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Tried this the other day and it was incredible! Everyone loved it. I did double the bacon, because I couldn't resist... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Love this recipe. My entire family loved it. This was our summer dish. I added two large cans of dices tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano in it instead of one 14.5oz can. I did use the spices called for in recipe as well. We prefer a bit more juice to a sauce. I also use turkey bacon which is good, but real bacon is better. Sooo easy to make and it's really good leftover as a cold pasta side, if there are any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I added a few extras at the end, couldnt help myself, but probably pretty good as written also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The salad seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was just ok for us. It felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Wonderful - Quick - Tasty ! and for sure will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
So simple and delicious! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Claire

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States