Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I only review if I don't change anything. This was easy and nice and light. My husband thought it needed meat in order to feel full so he diced up some cooked chicken in his. The bacon added nice flavor, but isn't exactly a heart healthy choice. I used whole grain pasta as well. Next time I think I'll use fresh diced tomatoes to lower the sodium content. Otherwise, a super week night meal the whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Just okay. I used tips from others and added mushrooms & onions to the bacon grease and garlic before the tomatoes. I also added grilled chicken to the mixture. It was just lacking something. We added a lot of salt and Parmesan cheese when we ate, it helped. It should be noted that my husband REALLY liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlphalen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This recipe is good and couldn't be easier. I omitted the olive oil, because the bacon rendered plenty of fat, and I just wilted the spinach in the skillet with the bacon and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was very good. When I started making this dish, I realized I didn't have a package of bacon so I cheated and used real bacon bits. I also took the advice of several others and it turned out wonderful. Another dish for the "repeat" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is so yummy and easy!!! The only thing I added was after frying the bacon, I left the grease in the pan and added chicken strips which have give the chicken more flavor and make the meal more hearty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
edible, but not worth repeating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Flavor was definately lacking. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very delicious and easy to make. I used whole wheat penne pasta instead. A little gritty because of the whole wheat pasta, but really yummy. You don't feel over stuffed like you do when you eat regular pasta with marinara sauce. My boyfiend is a very picky eater and he loved this. We will be making this as a regular dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Plates beautifully but very bland. I added diced onion and fresh parmesan cheese to this recipe and it was still very, very bland. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good! I used pre-cooked bacon and just "refried/reheated" it, so there wasn't as much bacon grease flavoring but still tasted like bacon. I wilted some of the spinach with the pasta, poured everything back into the pan, and then wilted a bit more spinach with it. Topped it all off with parmesan and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States