Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I took some of the advice of other posts and used a whole pound of bacon, added an onion to the garlic, and added the spinach to the tomato mixture to wilt it down so it absorbed the flavor. I thought it was really good and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
We liked this. Since I don't care for canned or fresh tomatoes, I used sun dried. I also added some low fat half and half and sautéed spinach with bacon after the bacon was cooked, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
My family and i did not like this. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
So delightful! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My husband had thirds! And took the leftovers for lunch the next day. I made a few changes; I added an onion to the garlic and tomatoes and used pre-cooked bacon instead. Since I didn't have bacon grease I used chicken broth and a spoonful of butter to cook the onions in. I also did not drain the pasta over the spinach. I added the spinach directly to the sauce at the last minute with the crumbled bacon and tossed it with the pasta immediately. I also added fresh parsley, basil and oregano to the onions when they were cooking. It was delicious! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy guerra
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Very delicious! I didn't make this bacon instead I just added red roasted peppers with the tomatoes and tossed a little pesto into the pasta. I also added a little oregano herbs into the tomatoes and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy guerra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Bolsei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Very easy dish for a week night.y family and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Excellent as-is, everyone loved it and I even think it would make a great cold summer salad (just don't wilt the spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States