Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Followed recipe plus a few extra pieces of bacon, and this was fabulous!! I used an entire 7 oz container of baby spinach and didn't bother tearing it up, wilting process takes care of it for you. My two young girls LOVED it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I used this as a starting point and was using veggies I had, too. I added sauteed mushrooms and onions. I only had frozen spinach. Overall, EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I added walnuts and feta cheese........so good! I did drain the excess bacon fat off, but allowed some for flavor. I used veggie pasta, whatever amount I figured I could eat in a meal and had two small-med frozen tomatoes I cooked in..:) I guess I used this recipe as a basic to build to my own needs and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is 5 star if you drain off the fat after the bacon is cooked. Not sure if that a step everyone would just assume but I took one look at the volume of fat and drained it off before adding the garlic. I think all that fat would ruin the dish. With that one change this is unbelievably delicious for something so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I can't believe I'm in the minority here, but we were not impressed with this recipe. I followed it exactly and did not like the outcome. We found it overwhelmingly bland and noodle heavy. It did not suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I'm giving this basic recipe a five for easy prep versatility and flavor! You can do a lot with it and it turns out delicous! I added saute chicken tenders, mushrooms and I used fresh romas that were over ripe with some roasted red pepeprs that I had already. I used lots of garlic , chopped shallots, hot red pepper flakes, and basil. I skipped the olive oil and used the bacon fat to cook it all in -my bacon was very lean, so not much grease from the bacon but it gave flavor. When it was served, I sprinkled feta cheese and fresh grated parmasan over the top. This will become a favorite dish>> thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was a wonderful dish. I suggest using 2 cans of either diced or Italian stewed tomatoes. Otherwise, would highly recommend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was a nice, different pasta dish to cook. It was a little bland, but nothing that can't be corrected with a little more seasoning during the cooking process and/or some cheese sprinkled over the finished product. I also used much more bacon than the recipe called for, cooked it to a crisp and crumbled it into the dish right before serving. I also used diced tomatoes with tomato sauce, which gave it a little more moisture than I think it would have had otherwise. Very good, and I'm sure I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is delicious. I did not add olive oil to the skillet before cooking the bacon because I did not see the point. Also, I do not have a colander, so I put the spinach in the skillet on top of the tomatoes, then the pasta in a large bowl. Then I quickly flipped the tomato/spinach mix onto the pasta. It was great, the whole family loved it and I will fix again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was a fabulous quick meal! Only variation was with can of diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano mixed in it instead of plain diced tomatoes. When I served it in bowls, my husband added crumbled blue cheese which was fabulous!! Will definitely add it into our dinner rotation. Love this site for helping us 'normal' people be better cooks. Thanks for this recipe Jean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loliekay
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States