Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made recipe once as written, then again with some minor changes. (star rating is "as written). This will become a go to recipe in my home. As written it's a really good recipe, nearly as easy to make as regular spaghetti. The changes I made were to add sliced mushrooms (sauteed after cooking the bacon) and red pepper flakes (added after adding the tomatos). This is really good with whole wheat pasta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Made it exactly as the recipe, tried it & I wasn't a fan of it. Not enough flavor. So I added parmesan cheese & a little caesar dressing. Made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars for taste and how easy it was to make. There is a lot of flavor here for so few ingredients. The only change I made was to not use the oil. Next time I will add fresh basil to it. Thanks for sharing Jean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I would suggest keeping the cooked bacon out of the tomato mixture until serving. Also more garlic. I didn't like how the bacon softened. Other than that it was okay. My family liked it better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was really good! I used a whole package of bacon instead of just 6 slices. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was yummy! Everyone liked it (my 2 boys ages 2 and 4) and my husband. Will most likely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was a nice change from the usual pasta and sauce dishes I usually make. Next time, I will add two cans of tomatoes because mine cooked down very quickly and left the pasta bit dry for my taste. I added shrimp also because i wanted a protein included. A nice dinner overall, which I will make again. Maybe I'll add sun-dried tomotoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe. It was easy and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxannemorrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Another favorite hit with my family. The spinach, tomato and bacon are a great combination. This will be a staple in household. Loved it -thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
It's good. Per reviews, it is light. It is extremely easy to make. It's garllicy. If you don't about garlic, you'd need to reduce the amount. I liked it fine where my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States