Penne Pasta with Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Good basics, but I used 1 each green, red and yellow pepper. I added a small can of stewed tomatoes after the peppers and onion sauteed, and then tossed the cooked pasta into the same pan to let it absorb the olive oil flavor a bit. Tasted great and heated up well in the microwave the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This dish could use more flavor. I added red chili flakes and lots of salt and pepper, and I used one each of red, yellow, and orange bell peppers. I found the pasta itself to be a bit dry (I used whole wheat), so I think next time I'll add some tomatoes or spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Tastey yet fast meal for people who work, if I have time I add chicken breast to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This a tasty, simple pasta dish if you love peppers and onions like we do! I have made this several times, and I always add some dried Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Crushed red pepper flakes is great in this too, if you prefer some spiciness. I do add more olive oil, but that's just personal preference. We love this topped with grated parmesan cheese, sometimes I toss some in the vegetable mix as well. Thanks for sharing, we really enjoy this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was really good! The second time I made it, I added some left over grilled chicken and fresh zucchini. I also added a bit more garlic, and used less peppers. One of the best pastas I've ever made, and the family loved it! Gotta have the grated parmesan on top, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This dish is very easy! But, I added a pound of smoke sauage with peppers in frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We add sausage to this and it is a 5 star recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I thought this was just perfect, but Hubs thought it "needed something" (his taste buds must have been shot tonight). It was the perfect accompaniment to "Pork Marsala," also from this site. Normally I would have served the meat with just some pasta aglio e olio, but this time I wanted something with a little more pizazz, a little more colorful. I didn't measure precisely, just cut, chopped and added to taste, tossing all at the end. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Very good & easy. For the noodles I stirred in some garlic dressing, then added the sweet peppers. Was a hit! Ooop...I forgot to add some parmesan cheese on top as suggested by one reader.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was such a great recipe! Instead of penne I used fettucine cuz I didn't have any penne on hand. I did add follow other's suggestions though. I added some italian seasoning and used garlic powder cuz I dind't have any garlic cloves. Also, I added some stewed tomatoes to the peppers and added the pasta to let it absorb the flavors. I added marinated shrimps (recipe on allrecipes) after. It was a hit! My bf went for seconds and my mom requested it for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States