Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This recipe is really good. I made some slight adjustments so suit my family. Added 1 small onion and 2 cloves of garlic (sauteed like advised by prior reviewer) also added a few shakes of crushed red pepper and topped with fresh grated romano cheese. Very good and REALLY, REALLY easy to make!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
We're trying to do a meatless dish one night a week, and this really fit the bill (literally -super cheap to make!) Simple to prepare, and it tasted wonderful. Bought a 0.5lb head of escarole, and it was just right. Like the previous reviewers, I sauteed 1t of extra garlic in 1T olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients, then a shake of red pepper flakes at the end. My husband like his with grated parm on it, but I thought it was delicious, as is. Creamy, hearty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Excellent recipe!! I wasn't sure if the brand of diced tomatoes would have enough flavor, so I did saute 1 clove of minced garlic with olive oil prior to adding the escarole. Came out perfect! Will definitely be a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was an easy week night recipe for a working mother/wife. I added sauted diced chicken tenders (boneless and skinless), onions and garlic to the recipe. My husband and daughter really liked this. My husband even said that this recipe is a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Photo by veggggies
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Rather then buying the diced tomatoes with garlic and onion, I diced them on my own and cooked them in a little olive oil first. I did not have cannellini beans so I used white northern beans. I also substituted organic whole wheat rotini for the penne. I loved this recipe, but felt it needed more flavor (which was easy enough to add on my own). I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I made this recipe without the Escarole. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I used regular diced canned tomatos and added garlic and italian seasonings, as well as two links of reduced fat sweet italian turkey sausage. It was fantastic and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I also sauteed 1 onion and 4 cloves of garlic in some olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I didn't really like the crunchiness of the beans, so I sauteed everything for another 10 minutes until the Cannellini had somewhat softened. All in all a very good and easy dish, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
In addition to adding garlic and onion, I added a touch of crushed red pepper and about 1/2 cup of chicken broth which really brought all the flavors together...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make. I did not alter the recipe just added some red pepper flakes. Will definitely make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States