Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I substituted the escarole for spinach since the store was out of it. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. It was simple & quick, but the taste was too bland. My husband who eats just about anything didn't like it. I wanted to really like this recipe, but probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I prepared this tasty dish for a dinner party and everyone loved it. My wife is a Vegan and was a perfect dish for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babycoconut
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is good one healthy quick and easy to cook but there's something missing to wake up your taste buds.... next time l try to add a hotsauce or a couple tablespoons of salsa. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycoconut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This recipe is not at all as good as it looks and sounds. It has absolutely no flavor at all. I added cubed steak to add protein. Despite this, it has great potential. Here are some tips if i were to make this again: 1. escarole is a bitter vegetable, so be sure to cook it thurougly. 2. this recipe is very starchy, so drain and wrinse the beans. 3. use the juice from the tomatoes to give it a sauce 4. add fresh garlic and onions to enhance the flavor 5. add desired spices (salt, pepper, oregano, etc) and grated parmasean cheese. i didnt like the recipe, but there are definitley ways to improve it, hence the two stars in stead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I have eaten this recipe my whole life..my Mom would refer to it as a medicine..along w/poached eggs and toast or toast diced into a soft boiled egg..the two have always been very healthy-winter's coming time for such things//I have a experiment to try..I have been making my own pasta and I saved the water I used to boil a good size batch(1-lb)I re-used the very hot water to soak some Northern beans(they seemed to grow larger even before completly cooked(flour in the water)..so I really need to try boiling some beans with some flour in the water too see if they grow in size..I cook my beans over a 2-3 day period..I boil(usually Navy Beans)for a single hour and then turn off the heat and just let them sit until cool enough for the FRIDGE//where they sit until the next day--I finish them over the next day or a third day..but I need to try SOAKING--in some floured water//[end]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doePastaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veggggies
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Rather then buying the diced tomatoes with garlic and onion, I diced them on my own and cooked them in a little olive oil first. I did not have cannellini beans so I used white northern beans. I also substituted organic whole wheat rotini for the penne. I loved this recipe, but felt it needed more flavor (which was easy enough to add on my own). I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make. I did not alter the recipe just added some red pepper flakes. Will definitely make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Love it! Very easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was an easy week night recipe for a working mother/wife. I added sauted diced chicken tenders (boneless and skinless), onions and garlic to the recipe. My husband and daughter really liked this. My husband even said that this recipe is a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I first made this dish for my husband's birthday. The second time I substituted the escarole with broccoli rabe and it was delicious! It's a quick easy meal for working families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States