Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Awesome!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is great and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
great recipe followed it as written the first time. the second time I used fired roasted tomatoes, came out even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good. I followed the other reviewers' suggestions and sauteed garlic in olive oil before adding the other ingredients, and then adding a pinch of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This dish was simple, colorful, and delicious. I also added some garlic to the escarole. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a typical Italian peasant dish full of flavor and easy to make I substituted the can of diced tomatoes with onion and garlic for about three good size tomatoes and about a third of a good size onion and garlic. Whoever said this was a bland dish didn't make it correctly! It is a staple in my New York Italian family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I tried this recipe because I was given a large head of escarole. I'm not crazy about escarole, but I didn't want to turn down fresh food. I've tried this recipe and one other bean and escarole recipe on this website. Both are "okay." I give the recipe 4 stars because I'm not going to fault the cook if I don't love escarole. The recipe was lacking a little something and I threw in a bit of sauted onion and garlic. But I like how the flavors come together and will probably make this recipe again if I'm given free escarole again. However, if you're looking for a recipe that's going to make you fall in love with escarole, this isn't quite it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Easy, and woderful flavor. great if you are on a diet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I couldn't find escarole anywhere and didn't know a substitute so I got collard greens and they seemed to work fine. I added a little garlic at the beginning and a few shakes of red pepper flakes and topped it with fresh grated Romano like a lot of the other reviewers recommended. It still seemed lack it was lacking some flavor, but I'm not sure what I'd try next time. But I think I will definitely try this one again, but next time with a little more experimentation...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a good base recipe. I also sauteed about 3 cloves of garlic in a olive oil. Added red pepper, oregano, basil and parsley. I also let it simmer for about 20 minutes to thicken the sauce and fully cook the escarole which I didn't chopped fine enough. Topped with pecorino romano cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States