Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
It's a great start, but it was pretty bland. It looks beautiful, a nice change from regular tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Followed the recipe but without the escarole. Found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used spinach as a substitute. I also used 1/2 cup of red wine and 2 tbsp. of crushed red pepper. The dish was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good. Quick and easy and good for cold weather. I did add a sautéed onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used sweet and hot sausage slices and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yummy! Even the meat eaters were pleased. I was a little dissappointed with the lack of protein (only 11 gs per person with a whopping 50 gs of carbs), perhaps more beans and less pasta are in order. I used mustard greens instead because I couldn't find escarole at the store and online said it would be a good substitute (it was). I also used whole wheat penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The basic recipe is acceptable; however, it definitely needs more seasoning. Instead of using escarole(which we don't like), I used basil and oregano. I also used a mix of other Italian seasonings. We topped with cheese and crushed red pepper. With extra seasoning, this is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Such a yummy recipe!! I, like many of the others, also sautéed some garlic in olive oil. And instead of using canned tomatoes, i cut up some tomatoes, tossed them with olive oil, salt, and pepper, and then roasted them in the oven. the tomatoes had such a delicious flavor and tossed with everything else, came our great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I also added a clove of garlic and crushed red pepper. It was inexpensive, and quick easy to make. My husband enjoyed it, I thought it was fine, but a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is absolutely DELICIOUS!! We loved it. I did not drain the tomatoes and it was perfect. I also added ground turkey, which made it more filling. I will definitely keep this one! It was SO easy!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci
Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States