Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was horrible. I sauteed an onion and a few garlic cloves added the escarole. I cooked the cannellini beans in some chicken broth (about 1 cup) because some reviewers commented on the beans being too hard. I added the tomatoes to the onion/garlic mixture tossed in the beans with the broth and tossed it all with the pasta. I'm not sure what it was. But the beans and pasta mixture was gross. I really expected more from this recipe and even with my additions it was way too bland. We like a little more flavor in our food. I feel like I wasted some good escarole on this recipe. I added a ton of red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese just to get thru eating it. Won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I love escarole and I was expecting a lot from this recipe. I was disappointed by the blandness and dryness of the dish. It was ok but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
My family really likes this recipe and it is so quick and easy that it has become part of the regular rotation. Instead of escarole I use fresh spinach leaves, because I usually have them on hand. I also add fresh garlic, basil and Italian seasoning. I garnish with some crumbled feta. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
WILL USE THIS AGAIN THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS TO ADD CRUSHED RED PEPPER LIKE ALOT OF OTHER REVIEWERS.THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
great recipe, made this for my family, huge success. I added some chicken stock and crusher red pepper. Also, if you want add a cup of the water from the penne after you have mixed the ingredients, it will add a little juice to dip your bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I had to add some meat to it for my family, so I added mediteranian seasoned turkey sausage and a package of spinach instead of the escarole. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a very good, simple recipe. I followed it exactly, except I only used 1/2 of a 13oz bag of chopped escarole, which was still plenty. Great for a simple dinner or a side dish - and very healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I thought this dish was extremely easy to make and very good. I followed to a tee except that the diced tomatoes I purchased were with garlic and olive oil. I also used a much smaller portion or the escarole but I think it's easy to eye-ball how much is needed. Very quick, wonderful side dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This recipe left alot to be desired. It lacked flavor and was not moist at all. Maybe if I just cooked the escarole first then added the beans. Just not what I expected. Probable will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was awesome. Simple ingredients, easy to make and good for you. I am a runner so this is a perfect fuel food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States