Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I have eaten this recipe my whole life..my Mom would refer to it as a medicine..along w/poached eggs and toast or toast diced into a soft boiled egg..the two have always been very healthy-winter's coming time for such things//I have a experiment to try..I have been making my own pasta and I saved the water I used to boil a good size batch(1-lb)I re-used the very hot water to soak some Northern beans(they seemed to grow larger even before completly cooked(flour in the water)..so I really need to try boiling some beans with some flour in the water too see if they grow in size..I cook my beans over a 2-3 day period..I boil(usually Navy Beans)for a single hour and then turn off the heat and just let them sit until cool enough for the FRIDGE//where they sit until the next day--I finish them over the next day or a third day..but I need to try SOAKING--in some floured water//[end]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doePastaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veggggies
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Rather then buying the diced tomatoes with garlic and onion, I diced them on my own and cooked them in a little olive oil first. I did not have cannellini beans so I used white northern beans. I also substituted organic whole wheat rotini for the penne. I loved this recipe, but felt it needed more flavor (which was easy enough to add on my own). I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make. I did not alter the recipe just added some red pepper flakes. Will definitely make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Love it! Very easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was an easy week night recipe for a working mother/wife. I added sauted diced chicken tenders (boneless and skinless), onions and garlic to the recipe. My husband and daughter really liked this. My husband even said that this recipe is a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I first made this dish for my husband's birthday. The second time I substituted the escarole with broccoli rabe and it was delicious! It's a quick easy meal for working families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This dish is elegant in its simplicity. The flavors are magical together. Add a nice glass of wine, some fruit for dessert, and call it a meal because you really can't ask for anything better. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was ok, for being nonfat and vegan. It needed more greens/vegetables and less pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I also sauteed 1 onion and 4 cloves of garlic in some olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I didn't really like the crunchiness of the beans, so I sauteed everything for another 10 minutes until the Cannellini had somewhat softened. All in all a very good and easy dish, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
delicious! a great way to use escarole. i added a second can of diced tomatoes without the liquid. an inexpensive, tasty and healthful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States