Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Excellent recipe!! I wasn't sure if the brand of diced tomatoes would have enough flavor, so I did saute 1 clove of minced garlic with olive oil prior to adding the escarole. Came out perfect! Will definitely be a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This recipe is really good. I made some slight adjustments so suit my family. Added 1 small onion and 2 cloves of garlic (sauteed like advised by prior reviewer) also added a few shakes of crushed red pepper and topped with fresh grated romano cheese. Very good and REALLY, REALLY easy to make!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This dish is elegant in its simplicity. The flavors are magical together. Add a nice glass of wine, some fruit for dessert, and call it a meal because you really can't ask for anything better. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I made this recipe without the Escarole. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
We're trying to do a meatless dish one night a week, and this really fit the bill (literally -super cheap to make!) Simple to prepare, and it tasted wonderful. Bought a 0.5lb head of escarole, and it was just right. Like the previous reviewers, I sauteed 1t of extra garlic in 1T olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients, then a shake of red pepper flakes at the end. My husband like his with grated parm on it, but I thought it was delicious, as is. Creamy, hearty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was an easy week night recipe for a working mother/wife. I added sauted diced chicken tenders (boneless and skinless), onions and garlic to the recipe. My husband and daughter really liked this. My husband even said that this recipe is a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I used regular diced canned tomatos and added garlic and italian seasonings, as well as two links of reduced fat sweet italian turkey sausage. It was fantastic and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
couldn't imagine how this would be good, but yum! cooked it for my family, they all loved it, then a church luncheon, rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
delicious! a great way to use escarole. i added a second can of diced tomatoes without the liquid. an inexpensive, tasty and healthful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I first made this dish for my husband's birthday. The second time I substituted the escarole with broccoli rabe and it was delicious! It's a quick easy meal for working families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States