Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I'm normally not a pasta eater but I have been counting calories lately and made this simply based on the low calories. I ended up loving it and am finding that eating healthy is not so bad! I did add more garlic and some crushed red pepper. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This recipe was awesome. I cooked a little garlic and onion in a bit of olive oil before I added the escarole and other ingredients. I also used about half of the juice from the can of tomatoes with garlic and onion. I loved it and we will continue to make this again and again. This recipe should get 5 stars alone on how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie&gabrielsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I am normally a pasta fan but found this recipe to be really bland. And I think that it was almost a little "gritty" to my taste. We added extra onion and garlic but still found it to be bland. I don't think this is on the list to make again - too many other good recipes to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Not very good flavor. Tried to save it from the start based on other reviews by adding more seasonings including red pepper flakes. The problem may be too much pasta in relation to other ingredients. On the plus side, it was cheap and easy..and the possums liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
In addition to adding garlic and onion, I added a touch of crushed red pepper and about 1/2 cup of chicken broth which really brought all the flavors together...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Loved the ease of this recipe and feel it has the potential for excellence. I followed recipe as described and found it bland. In the future I would add garlic, olive oil, etc. that others recommended. Also we topped it with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I substituted the escarole for spinach since the store was out of it. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. It was simple & quick, but the taste was too bland. My husband who eats just about anything didn't like it. I wanted to really like this recipe, but probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I prepared this tasty dish for a dinner party and everyone loved it. My wife is a Vegan and was a perfect dish for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babycoconut
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is good one healthy quick and easy to cook but there's something missing to wake up your taste buds.... next time l try to add a hotsauce or a couple tablespoons of salsa. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycoconut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This recipe is not at all as good as it looks and sounds. It has absolutely no flavor at all. I added cubed steak to add protein. Despite this, it has great potential. Here are some tips if i were to make this again: 1. escarole is a bitter vegetable, so be sure to cook it thurougly. 2. this recipe is very starchy, so drain and wrinse the beans. 3. use the juice from the tomatoes to give it a sauce 4. add fresh garlic and onions to enhance the flavor 5. add desired spices (salt, pepper, oregano, etc) and grated parmasean cheese. i didnt like the recipe, but there are definitley ways to improve it, hence the two stars in stead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States