Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Fantastic! I added 3 cloves of garlic, a small onion and a small amount of green pepper (all minced) and 2 tbs olive oil. It is one of our favorites. We make it at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
We really liked this. Easy to prepare, my husband cooked this for dinner tonight (and he doesn't cook very often, so if he can make it, anyone can). It was initially a little bland for our taste, so we took the suggestion of some other reviews and added some salsa, 1 1/2 grilled chicken breast halves, and a little cheese to the dish. Very yummy, easy, healthy, and very budget friendly!! Only cost us about $3 to make, and there are tons of leftovers!! Yeah, that means dinner for another night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Loved this and so did my (hard-to-please) husband. I used only a half-pound of (whole wheat) penne, and I added: one sliced onion, sauteed; two cups of baby spinach; 1/3 cup juice from pepperoncini peppers; a little sea salt and pepper; and a small bit of leftover diced ham. A sprinkle of grated romano cheese made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I thought this was sort of bland, and I think I cooked the escarole too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This ended up pretty boring after I made all my changes. I skipped the greens, added onion and garlic, Sully liked the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was delicious, I did saute garlic and onios and instead of escarole, I used spinach. I didn't think that it was as good the second night, it tasted better when the pasta and beans were firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I added the pasta al dente and served it as a soup. A little crushed red pepper and topped with some fresh parmesian cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Wow, what an easy recipe which is full of flavor. My family loved it and thought they were back in Italy. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I sauted some fresh minced garlic and chopped onion in some olive oil as suggested by some other reviewers. Also, I only used 8 oz of pasta and it was plenty. I think a whole pound would have been way too much. I've never cooked with escarole before and I'm not sure I liked it all that much. If I make this again, I think I would use spinach instead. I didn't use the liquid from the beans, but added some water and chicken broth granules. This was okay, but not spectacular. I did feel like I was eating a healthy meal, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States