Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is a good solid dish and easy to make. Simple but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This recipes is good, except it calls for way too much pasta - this is why most reviewers may have called it bland. I only used about 8 ounces, vs. the 16 in the recipe, and the pasta to veggie ratio was still way too high. I also took other reviewers suggestions and added sauted garlic, onion and red pepper flakes. I would make it again with less pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I like it. Escarole is key. A teeny weeny bit bland, but 5 stars b/c of how quick and easy it is; it looks cool; and the beans are a good and variable idea. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
So bland, even after after tons of garlic. I could possibly see it being better with a meat, like sausage or chicken as others have stated, but will never make it again as is. The beans totally ruined the meal for me. There was too much and added nothing to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
i wasn't really a fan of this recipe. I have never had escarole before and it tasted pretty bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was just okay. However, it was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was really interesting. I would have never thought to put beans in a pasta dish. I used a clove of garlic and added some bit sized chunks of chicken breast and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was horrible. I sauteed an onion and a few garlic cloves added the escarole. I cooked the cannellini beans in some chicken broth (about 1 cup) because some reviewers commented on the beans being too hard. I added the tomatoes to the onion/garlic mixture tossed in the beans with the broth and tossed it all with the pasta. I'm not sure what it was. But the beans and pasta mixture was gross. I really expected more from this recipe and even with my additions it was way too bland. We like a little more flavor in our food. I feel like I wasted some good escarole on this recipe. I added a ton of red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese just to get thru eating it. Won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I love escarole and I was expecting a lot from this recipe. I was disappointed by the blandness and dryness of the dish. It was ok but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
My family really likes this recipe and it is so quick and easy that it has become part of the regular rotation. Instead of escarole I use fresh spinach leaves, because I usually have them on hand. I also add fresh garlic, basil and Italian seasoning. I garnish with some crumbled feta. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States