Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I would highly rate this easy to prepare, healthy meal. Even better yet, it is very low cost. My family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailarconmigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
okay. i think i cooked the escarole wrong... i sauteed it with onion and garlic in olive oil, and it turned out a little bitter. next time will try cooking it with the beans/tomatoes like it says to. good with parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not a big hit for the whole family but I enjoyed it. I used bowtie pasta since that's what I had on hand. It needed a little salt for my taste and was pretty good on the first day. Leftovers weren't as good but certainly fine for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Awesome!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is great and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
great recipe followed it as written the first time. the second time I used fired roasted tomatoes, came out even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good. I followed the other reviewers' suggestions and sauteed garlic in olive oil before adding the other ingredients, and then adding a pinch of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This dish was simple, colorful, and delicious. I also added some garlic to the escarole. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a typical Italian peasant dish full of flavor and easy to make I substituted the can of diced tomatoes with onion and garlic for about three good size tomatoes and about a third of a good size onion and garlic. Whoever said this was a bland dish didn't make it correctly! It is a staple in my New York Italian family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I tried this recipe because I was given a large head of escarole. I'm not crazy about escarole, but I didn't want to turn down fresh food. I've tried this recipe and one other bean and escarole recipe on this website. Both are "okay." I give the recipe 4 stars because I'm not going to fault the cook if I don't love escarole. The recipe was lacking a little something and I threw in a bit of sauted onion and garlic. But I like how the flavors come together and will probably make this recipe again if I'm given free escarole again. However, if you're looking for a recipe that's going to make you fall in love with escarole, this isn't quite it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States