Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The basic recipe is acceptable; however, it definitely needs more seasoning. Instead of using escarole(which we don't like), I used basil and oregano. I also used a mix of other Italian seasonings. We topped with cheese and crushed red pepper. With extra seasoning, this is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Such a yummy recipe!! I, like many of the others, also sautéed some garlic in olive oil. And instead of using canned tomatoes, i cut up some tomatoes, tossed them with olive oil, salt, and pepper, and then roasted them in the oven. the tomatoes had such a delicious flavor and tossed with everything else, came our great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I also added a clove of garlic and crushed red pepper. It was inexpensive, and quick easy to make. My husband enjoyed it, I thought it was fine, but a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is absolutely DELICIOUS!! We loved it. I did not drain the tomatoes and it was perfect. I also added ground turkey, which made it more filling. I will definitely keep this one! It was SO easy!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci
Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I would highly rate this easy to prepare, healthy meal. Even better yet, it is very low cost. My family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailarconmigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
okay. i think i cooked the escarole wrong... i sauteed it with onion and garlic in olive oil, and it turned out a little bitter. next time will try cooking it with the beans/tomatoes like it says to. good with parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not a big hit for the whole family but I enjoyed it. I used bowtie pasta since that's what I had on hand. It needed a little salt for my taste and was pretty good on the first day. Leftovers weren't as good but certainly fine for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Awesome!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is great and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
great recipe followed it as written the first time. the second time I used fired roasted tomatoes, came out even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States