Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used sweet and hot sausage slices and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yummy! Even the meat eaters were pleased. I was a little dissappointed with the lack of protein (only 11 gs per person with a whopping 50 gs of carbs), perhaps more beans and less pasta are in order. I used mustard greens instead because I couldn't find escarole at the store and online said it would be a good substitute (it was). I also used whole wheat penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The basic recipe is acceptable; however, it definitely needs more seasoning. Instead of using escarole(which we don't like), I used basil and oregano. I also used a mix of other Italian seasonings. We topped with cheese and crushed red pepper. With extra seasoning, this is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Such a yummy recipe!! I, like many of the others, also sautéed some garlic in olive oil. And instead of using canned tomatoes, i cut up some tomatoes, tossed them with olive oil, salt, and pepper, and then roasted them in the oven. the tomatoes had such a delicious flavor and tossed with everything else, came our great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I also added a clove of garlic and crushed red pepper. It was inexpensive, and quick easy to make. My husband enjoyed it, I thought it was fine, but a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is absolutely DELICIOUS!! We loved it. I did not drain the tomatoes and it was perfect. I also added ground turkey, which made it more filling. I will definitely keep this one! It was SO easy!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci
Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I would highly rate this easy to prepare, healthy meal. Even better yet, it is very low cost. My family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailarconmigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
okay. i think i cooked the escarole wrong... i sauteed it with onion and garlic in olive oil, and it turned out a little bitter. next time will try cooking it with the beans/tomatoes like it says to. good with parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not a big hit for the whole family but I enjoyed it. I used bowtie pasta since that's what I had on hand. It needed a little salt for my taste and was pretty good on the first day. Leftovers weren't as good but certainly fine for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Awesome!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States