Penne Pasta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I thought htis was great. I added some sour cream to the sauce just cuz' I had it to use. Maybe 3/4 cup? Easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I had no problem with this recipe as others claimed to have. I actually used less sauce than the recipe calls for and it was more than plenty. I used a whole wheat penne and I just added some chopped fresh onions, garlic, and basil leaves to the cheese mixture. I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Discovered I was out of lasagna noodles, so I found this recipe and adapted it. Used small shells, no meat, extra pasta and mozzarella. and flavorful tomato-based sauce. Yum! I like this recipe better than lasagna. It's a real comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Was totally fine. Made it to use up leftovers (sauce from spaghetti, ricotta from manicotti, leftover angel hair, ground beef that we'd cooked because we had to before it was too late). Our sauce starts w/Classico Tomato/Basil then hubs adds sausage, garlic & onion, added fresh parsley, basil & a pinch of salt to the ricotta, then chopped up the angel hair a bit. We had to use a mixture of mozzarella, cheddar & jack cause we only had small amounts of each, then layered as directed, eyeballing the amount of sauce. Tasted like lasagna to us. We enjoyed it, our granddaughter "Chef Ava" loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I found this rather dry and bland. If I made this again I would add Italian spices and more marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
A quick, easy meal with the taste of lasagna. Only modification was to reduce the amount of cheeses used. As someone who grew up eating authentic Italian, this was a quick and easy weeknight meal. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Harris Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I found this rather bland even with the Tom and Basil sauce, perhaps next time would season the meat and/or add onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The proportion of ricotta was way too high in relation to meat sauce, which made it very dry. Rather bland, too, as others have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States