Penne con Sauccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JJnicespice
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Delicious combination that we have used in our household for years. I substituted homemade sauce for jar sauce and used spicy chicken sausage to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJnicespice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is a good recipe. I used a pound of ground mild sausage because that is what I had on hand. I only used a teaspoon of the basil because I ran out. I think that was plenty. More than that would be overwhelming. Next time I won't add as much parsley. Other than that it was a great recipe that I will make again. My one year old even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This pasta was great! We made it with italian turkey sausage to bring down the fat and calories even more and it was delicious! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I make something like this once or twice a month, usually adding fresh peppers, fresh mushrooms and chopped sweet onion. Sauteing the vegetables with the garlic in EVOO really can make jarred sauce and tinned tomatoes pop. This dish never fails to disappear when I cook it, even with my little ones. Make sure you serve it with fresh parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Awesome. I used a pound of regular breakfast sausage because that's what I had. It was so good. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this based on my friend Nandabear's review and awesome photo, and I'm sure glad I did! What a wonderful dish and the best part is that it comes together so quickly. I used sweet Italian sausage and more garlic than called for. My hubby and I both really enjoyed this, so thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was pretty good, but I made a few changes to suit our taste. First, I used a full pound of Johnsonville sweet Italian sausage, browned it on the stovetop and then cut in diagonal slices. I recommend starting with maybe 1 tsp. of the crushed red pepper and adding more if you want more spice. I used 2 heaping tsp. of minced garlic and sauteed it in a pan with olive oil, a whole onion sliced very thin, and 2 cups of fresh sliced mushrooms (after removing the stems). Then I added it to the sauce ingredients and simmered for 45-60 minutes on the stove. I also added 1 tbsp. of cocoa powder to the sauce. It cut the bite out of the tomatoes and made the sauce a deep rich red/brown. I served it with a fresh salad and crusty bread. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Sorry, this is nothing special. Yes, it is easy but so is taking jarred pasta sauce and stewing italian sausage in it -- oh wait - that is basically what this recipe is. It was not bad by any means. Just mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Very good recipe! I have made it several times and my family loves it. Quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Used mild Italian sausage with some sugar thrown in the sauce as well as fresh herbs and fresh mushrooms. Used a can of diced tomatoes with no additional seasonings but did add some diced frozen onion. Quick to pull together and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States