Penne con Sauccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I used all-natural breakfast sausages, 2 7oz. boxes, 1 can petite diced tomatoes, 1 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and 3 tablespoons of the Italian dressing mix of herbs that I make from this site. I also substituted chopped, fresh zucchini instead of canned mushrooms. So, though it wasn't quite the same recipe, it was so easy to adapt and it was so tasty, that it gets 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
It was ok but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Very fast and easy, and a big hit with my wife and both kids (6 and 11)! My younger is dairy-allergic, and this is a good recipe for that because you can just add the parmesian cheese at the table to each person's own portion. I ommited the pepper flakes, since the sausage and the premade sauce provided some spice and the kids don't like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was pretty good, but I made a few changes to suit our taste. First, I used a full pound of Johnsonville sweet Italian sausage, browned it on the stovetop and then cut in diagonal slices. I recommend starting with maybe 1 tsp. of the crushed red pepper and adding more if you want more spice. I used 2 heaping tsp. of minced garlic and sauteed it in a pan with olive oil, a whole onion sliced very thin, and 2 cups of fresh sliced mushrooms (after removing the stems). Then I added it to the sauce ingredients and simmered for 45-60 minutes on the stove. I also added 1 tbsp. of cocoa powder to the sauce. It cut the bite out of the tomatoes and made the sauce a deep rich red/brown. I served it with a fresh salad and crusty bread. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Only change was to not add red pepper flakes - dish was still very flavorful - AND easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
as written need to double the sauce or 1/2 the pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I make something like this once or twice a month, usually adding fresh peppers, fresh mushrooms and chopped sweet onion. Sauteing the vegetables with the garlic in EVOO really can make jarred sauce and tinned tomatoes pop. This dish never fails to disappear when I cook it, even with my little ones. Make sure you serve it with fresh parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Sorry, this is nothing special. Yes, it is easy but so is taking jarred pasta sauce and stewing italian sausage in it -- oh wait - that is basically what this recipe is. It was not bad by any means. Just mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Not bad but I like to leave the sausage in links and cook a little longer in the sauce after grilling and draining off the fat. I never heard the word 'sauccia' in Italian but I know sausage translates...."salsiccia"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
It was very good ...except the spelling 'salsiccia' is more accurate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States