Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made this for my fiance and he loved it. I used half and half instead of cream and I added red pepper flakes for a little extra spice. I also added browned chicken and sauteed mushroom and onions to make it thicker (I sauteed the mushrooms and onions with the pancetta). I found that the sauce was a bit too salty, so I also added about a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Very Good. I added fresh basil, onion, and white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious and easy to prepare. I also substituted fat free half and half added 2 cloves of minced garlic at the end of the pancetta browning step and sprinkled with a touch of red pepper flakes. Thanks Rick for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Everyone in my family loved this. Even the little ones! You don't need to use "top shelf "Vodka for this. Any mid grade will do. I also added frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
edible but not good. Totally disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Good but nothing special.. It seems like The quality of your dish is going to be based on the quality of your tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I've always wanted to try this recipe when I see it out at my favorite Italian restaurant, but I always get distracted by something else on the menu. Found this recipe a while ago and made it for dinner the other night--it's delicious! Easy to make, but tasted like it was a lot harder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I omitted the bacon and added some minced garlic, per my personal tastes. It didn't have a ton of flavor, but I take responsibility for that. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Our daughter really wanted a Vodka sauce since she enjoys it at one of our favourite restaurants. This is even better and now it's everyone's favourite. Have done and will do it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Great recipe, I make it all the time! A couple additions/modifications I make (as others have): Along with the pancetta I add fresh minded garlic and onions (careful not to burn the garlic). Also, once it is all simmering I add crushed red pepper for some kick and also some Parmesan cheese to help thicken the sauce. In addition I let the whole thing simmer for maybe up to 30 mins to also help with thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States