Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I used this just for the vodka sauce recipe and thought this recipe was a great starter recipe. I did make some modifications including adding sautéed onions and crushed red pepper and removing the pancetta since we don't eat meat. I also blanched two tomatoes to remove the skin and added them to the tomato sauce. I cooked the butter and vodka sauce for about 1 minute and added the tomato sauce and cooked for a good 45 minutes on low before adding the cream. This was so amazingly delicious, I will definitely make it again. We made our own pasta using the basic pasta recipe from this website - also highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I love, love, love this receipe! I'd had something similar at a conference, and was thrilled to try it myself. Now, my kids beg for it. And, it's super easy to make. One change: I add grilled chicken breast & substitute regular bacon for the pancetta. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Delicious! We added a few shakes of red pepper flakes, garlic powder, and ground black pepper. Can't recommend this enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I sauted two cloves of garlic (minced) in the butter, and didn't use the Pancetta. It was so delicious. I can't get enough! The sauce freezes really well (and reheats in the microwave), so you can always have some ready. My only mistake was not doubling the recipe so I had more available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Like you are supposed to, I made this recipe EXACTLY as written in order to rate it. It was fantastic! My husband, who said he has "olive oil running through his italian veins" thought it was wicked good. It is so going to be our go-to vodka sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was VERY good! LOVED IT! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I found the pancetta bacon on the top rack with the regular bacon. It was a very quick and easy and tasted Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was pretty good and it's easy. I used my homemade spaghetti sauce (where it says tomato sauce) and then mixed in the other ingredients. I think if you used just straight tomato sauce from the can, it would be very flat. At least buy a good marinara spaghetti sauce as the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Great recipe! Very easy to make and tastes amazing. A very nice change from the every day sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this dish last night and OH-MY-GAWD ... it was delicious! And embarrassingly EASY to prepare! Upon reading reviews from others, I did add chicken, mushrooms, onions, garlic, rosemary and pepper flakes. Hubby was quick to say this recipe is a "do over". You must try it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
As written, this recipe was a bit bland. If you add a dash of spices such as rosemary, oregano, basil, garlic powder & red pepper flakes it makes it a five star recipe!! Next time we will try lump crab meat or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States