Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is an excellent base recipe! I took advice in other reviews and added sautéed onion garlic and mushrooms. I also sautéed shrimp and used fresh grated Parmesan! I'll definitely make this again. And by the way. No need to use gray goose vodka. Triple olives worked fine and I'd bet Smirnoff would too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Thought it needed more flavor, didn't care for the panchetta bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I really like the basis of this recipe, but I made a few additions. I sautéed finally minced onion in a combo of olive oil and butter. I also added fresh basil and hot pepper flakes. This recipe is a great starting point to add the flavors that you like. Also, I have made both with and without the pancetta. It's delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I agree with the reviewer who likened it to chef boy-r-dee. Edible but was thick and bland. Also, there was not enough pancetta for the flavor to be really present. All in all it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Added finely chopped mushrooms and onions with the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe is great and super quick. I did omit the vodka the second time I made because I didn't taste the difference. I used fat-free half/half instead of whipping cream and goya tomato sauce. It always comes out tasting great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I've made this several times. It's one of my go-to pasta recipes. I also use fat free half and half. Easy and delicious!! My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is probably one of my favorite sauces ever! Perfect, and the pancetta definitely adds good flavor to this. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is delicious. I forgot to buy whipping cream, so I substituted Dean's sour cream instead and it is delicious. I also sauteed some ground pork sausage with the pancetta. This is a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe is a great starter! I added shallots and 2 cloves of fresh garlic until fragrant just before adding the vodka, as well as a bit of chopped fresh basil and oregano for last 10 mins. Fresh ground pepper and a bit of red pepper flake (as always), and I stirred in most of the parmesan in the last 5 minutes, saving a bit to sprinkle on top along with fresh garlic chives. Served with grilled chicken breast. Practically licked the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GP_Bklyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States