Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was very tasty! I used bacon instead of pancetta (I cooked the bacon, drained the fat, blotted the bacon, and then added butter to the pan to make the sauce). My picky son who doesn't usually eat tomato-based sauces had three servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The recipe is good. I like a little more flavor, so I added 1/2 cup of sour cream, a handful of mozzarella and some basil. Here's the thing with this recipe, the process is awesome. There IS something about adding the vodka with the butter! Everyone loves this recipe. I make it by the "Sunday Sauce" pot and freeze it in quarts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was a huge hit. Absolutely amazing. However, I choose to use fat free half and half instead of the whipping cream and another users suggestion of fresh minced garlic and a pinch of onion powder and salt. I also doubled the ingredients to feed a larger group. I used rigatoni instead of penne and cooked it in chicken broth to make it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Sauce is easy and flavorful. I sub zucchini for the penne to cut carbs and add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever eaten! My grocery store did not have pancetta bacon, so I substituted it with salted pork belly and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Absolutely wonderful and full of flavour. I have no other way to describe it. I'll make this many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Hit the spot. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe, I would recomend using more bacon cuz bacon is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Excellent. Made it exactly how the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Holy macaroni, this is an awesome sauce!! The recipe is perfect as written. The market didn't have the right pancetta, so mine was diced, as opposed to the strips. Taste wise, no difference whatsoever. But I could see how it would add to the attractiveness of the dish and then seeing those beautiful little piggy strips wrapped around my fork, weaving through the linguine would be just plain art. LOL Oh ya, I didn't have penne on hand, so I used linguine. You know? As I sit here and type, I'm already getting excited to eat it for lunch tomorrow!! Enjoy, this is a truly great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States