Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I omitted the bacon and added some minced garlic, per my personal tastes. It didn't have a ton of flavor, but I take responsibility for that. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Our daughter really wanted a Vodka sauce since she enjoys it at one of our favourite restaurants. This is even better and now it's everyone's favourite. Have done and will do it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Great recipe, I make it all the time! A couple additions/modifications I make (as others have): Along with the pancetta I add fresh minded garlic and onions (careful not to burn the garlic). Also, once it is all simmering I add crushed red pepper for some kick and also some Parmesan cheese to help thicken the sauce. In addition I let the whole thing simmer for maybe up to 30 mins to also help with thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
SO good. We will make this again. I wanted to try something similar to a dish I had in an Itailian restaurant a few weeks ago and its almost the same. I added a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Fantastic and VERY easy!! I used Italian sausage instead of pancetta. I will be making again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Mortvedt
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is excellent! I used bacon as suggested since I didn't have pancetta. I boiled it before for a few minutes just to take out some of the smokiness Definitely recommend this one and making it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRDUKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Expensive but sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This dish is wonderful and a hit with my whole family. I used bucatini insted of penne, added a small onion, red pepper flakes, and garlic to the pancetta. Not a drop leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was a hit with the bf. Substitutions and additions: I used Tinkada gluten-free rice Penne, cooked for 15 minutes instead of regular Penne. Tito's vodka was awesome in it and less pricey than Goose. Full fat heavy cream and Boar's Head Pancetta. For extra flavor, I added to the recipe 2 cloves of garlic, one small onion and half a small, red bell pepper, all minced together in a food processor. I added these ingredients after reducing the vodka and pancetta mixture. I also added about 2 cups of frozen jumbo peeled shrimp: defrosted in a pyrex in the sink with cold running water for about 15 minutes and then strained, placed back into pyrex and flash cooked in boiling water (just pour over them) until cooked through. Since the shrimp will float out of the container unless weighted, I keep a small sieve over them to keep them in the pyrex and keep the h2O flowing. Add the cooked shrimp and sauce to the Penne and cook 5 more minutes to allow flavors to meld. Sprinkled individual servings with fresh-grated parmegiano-regiano and fresh-ground black pepper. I served this with a spinach salad with toasted pecans, chevre and homemade shallot/red wine vinaigrette, and a nice Red Zinfandel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleverpun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
OMG! This was SOOOOO good! Made this as the recipe stated, with the addition of a couple of herbs to the sauce. Tasted even better re-heated the next afternoon for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States