Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I always laugh when I see a high rating then read a review with a ton of changes. BUT...the laugh is on me on this one. The recipe is good. I like a little more flavor, so I added 1/2 cup of sour cream, a handful of mozzarella and some basil. Here's the thing with this recipe, the process is awesome. There IS something about adding the vodka with the butter! Everyone loves this recipe. I make it by the "Sunday Sauce" pot and freeze it in quarts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was a huge hit. Absolutely amazing. However, I choose to use fat free half and half instead of the whipping cream and another users suggestion of fresh minced garlic and a pinch of onion powder and salt. I also doubled the ingredients to feed a larger group. I used rigatoni instead of penne and cooked it in chicken broth to make it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Sauce is easy and flavorful. I sub zucchini for the penne to cut carbs and add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever eaten! My grocery store did not have pancetta bacon, so I substituted it with salted pork belly and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Absolutely wonderful and full of flavour. I have no other way to describe it. I'll make this many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Hit the spot. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe, I would recomend using more bacon cuz bacon is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Excellent. Made it exactly how the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Holy macaroni, this is an awesome sauce!! The recipe is perfect as written. The market didn't have the right pancetta, so mine was diced, as opposed to the strips. Taste wise, no difference whatsoever. But I could see how it would add to the attractiveness of the dish and then seeing those beautiful little piggy strips wrapped around my fork, weaving through the linguine would be just plain art. LOL Oh ya, I didn't have penne on hand, so I used linguine. You know? As I sit here and type, I'm already getting excited to eat it for lunch tomorrow!! Enjoy, this is a truly great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight... And we loved it!!! It came out DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States