Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I just can't understand that the recipe doesn't include garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
My 13 year-old son made this and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Because I live in Brazil, I used "cachaça" and I can tell you that it tastes better than had it have been with vodca. BE AWARE that the alcohol DOES NOT all evaporate during cooking. Also, since "cachaça" is very sweet, be sure to use a extra salty meat to even the dish out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George_Seaman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I am not sure why this recipe has been rated so high. Without adding the suggestions of others and my additions, this sauce would have been very bland and thin. To the bacon I added fresh herbs (thyme, rosemary, basil, parsley), and 2 each green onions and garlic clove. At the end it was still thin and bland so I added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste, a generous amount of fresh ground pepper and crushed red pepper flakes, and dash of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
You will not find a better vodka sauce that's easier to make...you might not find a better vodka sauce, period. We prefer chunks of pancetta (or prosciutto) to thin-sliced, and our local Acme sells Daniele brand diced pancetta in 4oz. containers; we use one container per batch. Note: when using pre-diced meat, the fat is not trimmed; cut down on the butter by half or it'll get greasy. If you're dicing your own meat, trim off the fat and keep the butter, or keep a little fat for flavor and adjust the butter accordingly. A 1/2 cup of diced red onion (per batch) goes in with the pancetta, and Rao's marinara is the sauce of choice. Smirnoff vodka. Heavy cream. Parmesan goes right into the pot after the sauce is finished simmering, and some shaved Parmesan goes on top along with lots of fresh Italian parsley or basil. We always triple the recipe and freeze what we don't eat so it's ready to go the next time the craving hits. Because the craving always returns ?? Thanks, Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Overall very good. It came out a little salty for me, but still good. I made two additions, I added minced garlic and parsley to the sauce. I didn't have penne pasta on hand so I used spaghetti instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Super quick and easy! Love this recipe! Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nzeke
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My whole family LOVES it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmckim35
Living In: South Amboy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I enjoyed this. It originally just tasted like a spruced up spagetti sauce so I modified it and put less vodka, more cream and used a pasta sauce with garlic and herb added to it. I also added my own fresh garlic, sun dried tomatos (this makes it really pop and taste great!) and put some parm directly into. It was amazing! Oh and I used real bacon instead of pancetta (gives it a much better taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hickey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States