Penne All' Arrabbiata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I could care less if this is a true "Arrabbiata", it is a fabulous recipe with such depth of flavor! I took advice from other reviewers and cut back a little on the red pepper, and it was a huge success. Everyone loved it, and there were no leftovers! Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe. We follow the directions exactly, and enjoy the results time after time. This makes for great left-overs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Fantastica! A mix of a Putanesca, Amatriciana and Arrabbiata, this hearty pasta is quite delicious no matter what you call it. A houseful of real Italians (bred, born and raised in Italy) ate this and loved it. I used taggiasca olives and suggest using olives in oil rather than brine for a rustic, authentic flavor. I cooked it the length of time required and was surprised that it cooked down so quickly, so that is a plus too. Lunch was ready in less than 20 minutes. Thanks Marbalet for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I agree with other reviews for this recipe, I don't care of it's a true Arrabbiata, this was fantastic! The flavors are amazing. I did make one change; I used anchovie paste instead of fillets. Mentally, that was much easier for me to work with. This recipe also heats up nicely for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Lively, spicy melange of flavors, I will be making this again. I admire an inventive cook who is adventurous with traditional recipes, kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Sure, it may not be an authentic arrabbiata, but boy is this recipe TASTY! I've served it at several dinner parties with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We loved this dish. Just heavenly! Next time I will use 1/2 t. crushed red pepper instead of the 1 1/2. Just a bit firey for me but my guests loved it. It can always be added of course. Just depends on your taste for heat. A little anchovy paste is also an easy substitute for the fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Witzig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
It was okay. The recipe is more like puttanesca with mushrooms. I used regular bacon b/c that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I cut down the crushed pepper and eliminated the wine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Tasty & spicy. Whole wheat penne, kalamata olives and chopped smoked sausage are what I used. Omitted anchovies. Fairly economical if you have some of those pantry basics on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States