Penne All' Arrabbiata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
Another distorted vision of a dish that suppose to be fresh and simple./ This recepie is a mix of "pasta Puttanesca"+"Marinara"and a little of Arrabbiata. If you ever Serve this dish to an italian (born and rased in italy), please don't call it arrabbiata thank you very much and sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Though tasty, I have to agree with Pino - this is not an arrabiata and should not be classified as such. Also, no true Italian would put cheese on an arrabiata (nor is cheese appropriate with fish and pasta. Trust me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Sure, it may not be an authentic arrabbiata, but boy is this recipe TASTY! I've served it at several dinner parties with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Fantastica! A mix of a Putanesca, Amatriciana and Arrabbiata, this hearty pasta is quite delicious no matter what you call it. A houseful of real Italians (bred, born and raised in Italy) ate this and loved it. I used taggiasca olives and suggest using olives in oil rather than brine for a rustic, authentic flavor. I cooked it the length of time required and was surprised that it cooked down so quickly, so that is a plus too. Lunch was ready in less than 20 minutes. Thanks Marbalet for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
great recipe, lots of flavor. make sure you don't buy the tomatos that are already crushed; it makes things a bit too soupy. don't skimp on the anchovies or other things that give the flavor. they can be overpowered later while simmering with the tomatos. what makes this dish so great is the daring flavor and uniqueness of the anchovies, capers, and olives. do not leave these out!!! takes about an hour including prep time, and was very easy (even for a college student)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I agree with other reviews for this recipe, I don't care of it's a true Arrabbiata, this was fantastic! The flavors are amazing. I did make one change; I used anchovie paste instead of fillets. Mentally, that was much easier for me to work with. This recipe also heats up nicely for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I could care less if this is a true "Arrabbiata", it is a fabulous recipe with such depth of flavor! I took advice from other reviewers and cut back a little on the red pepper, and it was a huge success. Everyone loved it, and there were no leftovers! Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I cut down the crushed pepper and eliminated the wine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We loved this dish. Just heavenly! Next time I will use 1/2 t. crushed red pepper instead of the 1 1/2. Just a bit firey for me but my guests loved it. It can always be added of course. Just depends on your taste for heat. A little anchovy paste is also an easy substitute for the fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Witzig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Tasty & spicy. Whole wheat penne, kalamata olives and chopped smoked sausage are what I used. Omitted anchovies. Fairly economical if you have some of those pantry basics on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States