Penne All' Arrabbiata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I agree with other reviews for this recipe, I don't care of it's a true Arrabbiata, this was fantastic! The flavors are amazing. I did make one change; I used anchovie paste instead of fillets. Mentally, that was much easier for me to work with. This recipe also heats up nicely for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Tasty & spicy. Whole wheat penne, kalamata olives and chopped smoked sausage are what I used. Omitted anchovies. Fairly economical if you have some of those pantry basics on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I could care less if this is a true "Arrabbiata", it is a fabulous recipe with such depth of flavor! I took advice from other reviewers and cut back a little on the red pepper, and it was a huge success. Everyone loved it, and there were no leftovers! Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe. We follow the directions exactly, and enjoy the results time after time. This makes for great left-overs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Lively, spicy melange of flavors, I will be making this again. I admire an inventive cook who is adventurous with traditional recipes, kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
It was okay. The recipe is more like puttanesca with mushrooms. I used regular bacon b/c that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I cut down the crushed pepper and eliminated the wine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We loved this dish. Just heavenly! Next time I will use 1/2 t. crushed red pepper instead of the 1 1/2. Just a bit firey for me but my guests loved it. It can always be added of course. Just depends on your taste for heat. A little anchovy paste is also an easy substitute for the fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Though tasty, I have to agree with Pino - this is not an arrabiata and should not be classified as such. Also, no true Italian would put cheese on an arrabiata (nor is cheese appropriate with fish and pasta. Trust me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Sure, it may not be an authentic arrabbiata, but boy is this recipe TASTY! I've served it at several dinner parties with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States