Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Absolutely great! I substituded the tomatos with diced tomatos with same can size and added sliced mushrooms. Kim loved it and son actually liked it too. Great and very easy for a quality dinner. It was made as a side dish for breaded boneless pork chops, next just going to may chicken chuncks with it. You won't be sorry for trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RicKim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I just made this. I added even less cream than called for, and i find it to be very thin, and pretty tasteless. I added a ton of parmesean reggiano to add some flavor. It worked, and is decent, but really doesn't taste like a la vodka. If you live in a good city, with great italian restaurants, I don't suggest you try this. I think you will be pretty disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
What a wonderful pasta with minimal time and effort involved. Did reduce cream and added crushed red pepper flakes as others suggested. Also let pasta sit in sauce for at least an hour to allow the flavors to absorb. Will make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I've made this twice already (using the adjustments that 'Lizard' made-used crushed tomatoes and 3/4 pint of cream) and love it! It's perfect and I'm going to make about 5lbs for my daughter's bday celebration, too! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Delicious side dish! I used 15% cream and only a cup and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
EUREKA - I found the recipe I have been searching for! Now please note I gave this 4 stars as it is writen here (cos I found it a bit bland), but I did add a bit of chili peppers, a bit more garlic and garnish with fresh diced tomatoes and VOILA - 5 STARS! I think stewed tomatoes are important for coloring, you don't seem to get that with diced as much. Also, you can use 3/4 or even 1/2 of the cream they use here. Left overs heat up well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Easy and yummy! BUT I will use tomatoe sauce next time...not tomatoey enough for us:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethMarie10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This recipe was EXCELLENT! Loved the flavor! Next time I will thicken the sauce a little bit, as I just couldn't get enough of the sauce! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I loved this. I love creamy pasta, my husband loves tomatoe based pasta and this was a perfect blend. I added red pepper flakes and chicken. I didn't think it was necessary to do all the seperate simmering of each ingrediant so I shortened the simmer times of all of them except for the initial simmering of the tomatoes to burn off some of the juice. It turned out wonderfule. Next time I think I will add a little more vodka for taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is a great recipe I made it the other day, I will make this again.it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States