Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I took the advice of others and used crushed tomatoes and only one cup of cream and this was pretty amazing. I can't figure out how some people thought it was bland.. because it was far from that when I made it. Besides changing those two things I kept the recipe exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
fantastic. I've made this three times and each time it tasted great. I always add a box of perdue chicken strips to add some protein. Also, I use cans of diced tomatoes because I think its easier to mash. Use a couple more cans than asked because I don't think it is enough sauce for a pound of penne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I add a hot finger pepper, which I cut up and sautee with the garlic and basil. I also only use half the cream, and let it simmer a little longer than suggested (otherwise it doesn't have near enough flavor). And you'll want to interpret "salt and pepper to taste" rather liberally. Great recipe though. I always make it for guests, who usually request it again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I've got to say the first time I tasted Penne a la Vodka I fell in love with it so I decided to find out how to make it. This recipe was nice and simple and I made my own modifications towards it little salt. black pepper and red pepper flakes. I made the sauce to the consistency that I wanted then mixed it together with the penne and grilled chicken while using the remaining half of the heavy cream. The family loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
followed the recipe exactly, but i did add a shake of red pepper flakes to give it a kick. was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Definitely not quite what I was hoping for. Too creamy, not enough spices. Where are the onions? I had to add them on my own along iwth a lot more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
So delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by on2mami
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I added the onions and bacon from the earlier version of this recipe (Penne a la vodka I) and it was delicious! I also added parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by on2mami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Tasty recipe. I would recommend adding some cooked chicken cut into small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I've made this now about 100 times. Instead of whole peeled tomatoes, I use Fire Roasted diced tomatoes with garlic. I add about 1 tsp red pepper flakes and 1 tsp black & red pepper. I only use 1 cup heavy cream and I use vanilla vodka and it's out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States