Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was very good. Like others I added extra spices: more garlic, basil, and Mrs. Dash seasoning. Also I let the sauce sit for several hours. The taste improved the longer it sat. Left over sauce the next day was even better. Lots of good reviews from my family and guests. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I would add more garlic, less of the sauce from the can of tomatoes and you do not need the whole pint of cream... 1/2 pint is plenty. I also used more like a 1/2 cup of vodka. Delicious sauce that you can make pretty quickly and it's not expensive... although it makes for a special dinner. I suggest to taste it as you go and know that you can easily adjust this recipe to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I thought this was pretty good, hubby loved it though...not sure I'd make again. It was easy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
The only thing I did differently was that I used dried basil because the grocery store was out of fresh. My boyfriend and I both felt as though the sauce was extremely plain and definitely missing something although we couldn't put our finger on what. I do not plan on ever making this recipe again or recommending it to anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This needs a little quirking, but overall very good and very easy to make, even for an inexperienced cook. As others suggested, I would definitely only use 1 cup of cream, and I used Hunt's Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes instead of whole peeled tomatoes - gave it a lot more flavor! I have made this for my mother-in-law two times and she absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I took the advice of others and used crushed tomatoes and only one cup of cream and this was pretty amazing. I can't figure out how some people thought it was bland.. because it was far from that when I made it. Besides changing those two things I kept the recipe exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
fantastic. I've made this three times and each time it tasted great. I always add a box of perdue chicken strips to add some protein. Also, I use cans of diced tomatoes because I think its easier to mash. Use a couple more cans than asked because I don't think it is enough sauce for a pound of penne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I add a hot finger pepper, which I cut up and sautee with the garlic and basil. I also only use half the cream, and let it simmer a little longer than suggested (otherwise it doesn't have near enough flavor). And you'll want to interpret "salt and pepper to taste" rather liberally. Great recipe though. I always make it for guests, who usually request it again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I've got to say the first time I tasted Penne a la Vodka I fell in love with it so I decided to find out how to make it. This recipe was nice and simple and I made my own modifications towards it little salt. black pepper and red pepper flakes. I made the sauce to the consistency that I wanted then mixed it together with the penne and grilled chicken while using the remaining half of the heavy cream. The family loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
followed the recipe exactly, but i did add a shake of red pepper flakes to give it a kick. was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States