Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
needed to make some additions, but it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Vodka sauces are wonderful and so easy to make! I sauteed some chopped onion in olive oil along with 3 cloves of garlic. I then added 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes. I used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of whole and then 2 tsp. of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I also added a bit of parmesan cheese along with the cream and the sauce came out very smooth and oh so good over the penne pasta. Great with garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used 1/2 pint of cream and chopped the canned tomatoes a little before putting them in. Great recipe, and it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I tried this for the first time with some minor changes.. I used half the cream as others suggested. When I cooked the garlic, I added some onion and PANCETTA bacon (so different from regular bacon, no comparison and it will make the dish) I didn't have any red pepper flakes so I threw in a pinch of ground red pepper and it was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Easy and delicious. There are canned, fire roasted, diced tomatoes available and they work well in this. I will use this recipe alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was great. The only thing I added was 1/2t red pepper flakes, some chopped onion, garlic salt and shrimp. It was a very light sauce and everybody loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Made this dish tonight and I liked it a lot. It wasn't perfect or close to the best Penne Vodka I've eaten, but it was close enough that it is worth making again. I did make some important changes though: for a 6 serving recipe I added 1/3 Cup FROZEN PEAS to the sauce during the last 6 minutes of it cooking, about a teaspoon of CRUSHED RED PEPPER FLAKES, a quick sprinkle of GARLIC SALT (you could add another 1/2 clove of garlic and some more salt instead, but I was out of garlic), 1/2 Cup of TOMATO PASTE to thicken things up and only 1 Cup of HEAVY CREAM. 2 Cups would have been too much in my opinion. My girlfriend even commented that the frozen peas made a huge difference. I really suggest doing the peas thing. But over all I really enjoyed this dish. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Great, quick dinner. My mother makes a very similar sauce that is great. I added fresh parsley along with the basil. Some crushed red peppers add some flavor too. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cam20mon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was very good. Like others I added extra spices: more garlic, basil, and Mrs. Dash seasoning. Also I let the sauce sit for several hours. The taste improved the longer it sat. Left over sauce the next day was even better. Lots of good reviews from my family and guests. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States