Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I tried this for the first time with some minor changes.. I used half the cream as others suggested. When I cooked the garlic, I added some onion and PANCETTA bacon (so different from regular bacon, no comparison and it will make the dish) I didn't have any red pepper flakes so I threw in a pinch of ground red pepper and it was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Easy and delicious. There are canned, fire roasted, diced tomatoes available and they work well in this. I will use this recipe alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was great. The only thing I added was 1/2t red pepper flakes, some chopped onion, garlic salt and shrimp. It was a very light sauce and everybody loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Made this dish tonight and I liked it a lot. It wasn't perfect or close to the best Penne Vodka I've eaten, but it was close enough that it is worth making again. I did make some important changes though: for a 6 serving recipe I added 1/3 Cup FROZEN PEAS to the sauce during the last 6 minutes of it cooking, about a teaspoon of CRUSHED RED PEPPER FLAKES, a quick sprinkle of GARLIC SALT (you could add another 1/2 clove of garlic and some more salt instead, but I was out of garlic), 1/2 Cup of TOMATO PASTE to thicken things up and only 1 Cup of HEAVY CREAM. 2 Cups would have been too much in my opinion. My girlfriend even commented that the frozen peas made a huge difference. I really suggest doing the peas thing. But over all I really enjoyed this dish. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Great, quick dinner. My mother makes a very similar sauce that is great. I added fresh parsley along with the basil. Some crushed red peppers add some flavor too. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cam20mon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was very good. Like others I added extra spices: more garlic, basil, and Mrs. Dash seasoning. Also I let the sauce sit for several hours. The taste improved the longer it sat. Left over sauce the next day was even better. Lots of good reviews from my family and guests. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I would add more garlic, less of the sauce from the can of tomatoes and you do not need the whole pint of cream... 1/2 pint is plenty. I also used more like a 1/2 cup of vodka. Delicious sauce that you can make pretty quickly and it's not expensive... although it makes for a special dinner. I suggest to taste it as you go and know that you can easily adjust this recipe to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I thought this was pretty good, hubby loved it though...not sure I'd make again. It was easy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
The only thing I did differently was that I used dried basil because the grocery store was out of fresh. My boyfriend and I both felt as though the sauce was extremely plain and definitely missing something although we couldn't put our finger on what. I do not plan on ever making this recipe again or recommending it to anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This needs a little quirking, but overall very good and very easy to make, even for an inexperienced cook. As others suggested, I would definitely only use 1 cup of cream, and I used Hunt's Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes instead of whole peeled tomatoes - gave it a lot more flavor! I have made this for my mother-in-law two times and she absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States