Peking Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Quick and easy to prepare and lovely flavor. I did it with bonelss pork stakes and found the meat a bit dry so will reduce the cooking time when I do it again but, other than that, a nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is so easy and yummy! We make it at least twice a month. We add red peppers. We also suggest you add one or two bunches (yes bunches) of fresh cilantro to the pot about 10 minutes before serving. Just break apart the cilantro a little with your hands and leave out most of the thick stalks. It takes the dish to a whole new level. It tastes just like the Peking Pork and Cilantro dish from the award winning Rainbow Chinese restaurant in Minneapolis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I followed the directions to a T. For some reason I did not get results others had. The sauce was watery and the chops didn't get very tender. All in all it did not look appetizing. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Weidman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myerstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was definitely a good starting off point for a recipe, though I am going to tinker with it. I'm thinking that replacing the brown sugar with honey might be nice, and I'm certainly going to do what others have done and cut the soy sauce in half. I also thought that plum sauce might be nice in place of the ketchup, along with some chopped green onions thrown in for the last hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I loved it but it only rates 4 stars because no one else really did. It was a little too salty for the kids. I'll try it again with low sodium soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Enjoyed this very much, although a bit too salty, which is keeping it from 5 stars. Will switch to low-sodium soy and use a less next time. This is a keeper and will definitely try it again. Great flavor and very tender pork chops. Made the house smell great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I'll give this a weak four stars. I just didn't find it that appealing although my husband liked it more. I did use low sodium soy sauce. I added a bit of onion powder, garlic powder and worcester sauce. It was ok. But it is exactly the same as Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker recipe other than the amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Wow! I was really impressed. The flavor is very complex and tasty. Picky Boyfriend went back for seconds--that alone makes it a keeper! I used fresh garlic and ginger, and I added a splash of chili oil to give it some heat. After cooking, I added some corn starch to the sauce to thicken it up and served the whole thing over rice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I'm really surprised Husband liked this as much as he did. Imo, the sauce is eye-wateringly sour and salty, and it kinda leaves a weird film on your tongue. Just as well I was making it just for him, I guess. Oh, and if you want a thicker sauce, it's common sense that you take the lid off the crock pot for a while. I would give this 2 but Husband gives it 4. Weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I really liked this, and I am not a fan of pork chops. I reduced the amount of soy sauce to 1/8 of a cup, so it wouldn't be too salty and it was perfect for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States