Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by grandmahawkeye
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I made this duck for New Years day, it was very easy. I did have to put duck under broiler to get it crispy, the duck was still great. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is the third time I've made this recipe, its wonderful. I made it for a small dinner party last. I bought two 5 pound ducks and marinated for 24 hours with a little garlic on in inside with the green onions. Also used fresh ginger. I don't have a steamer big enough so I just roast it at around 425 for 40 minutes, basting it every ten minutes, then I put on the glaze and turn the oven down to 350 for about 30 minutes glazing and basting every ten minutes then 250 till done. When I need to crisp it I turn it to broil or 450 checking it often. I wait until its internal temp is 165. I serve with Wontons and rice. Hope this wasn't confusing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Very easy compared to tradional peking duck recipes, and very tasty. I added grated ginger and pieces of star anise into the cavity and used all the spice rub for the skin. A notes of caution, watch duck very closely when increasing heat (especially if using a convection oven). Didn't make the homemade plum sauce, instead heated 2 tsp. canola oil in saucepan until hot, then added 1 cup hoisin sauce (it will sizzle) and jusce of 2 limes. Usually, peding duck is served with "pancakes" for wrapping the meat - instead, I used lettuce leaves to wrap the duck, along with basil leaves & mint, then added the sauce - fabulous! Serve with fried rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I changed this recipe slighty - becasue I don't have a steamer - and I roasted the duck for 2 hours befoer basting it. I also added chinese plum sauce to my honey baste. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I absolutely love duck! I was so excited to see this on here. Followed exactly and it turned out wonderful. If you really like duck, I would get a little bigger duck for more servings. I used a 5lb and it was barely enough for my husband and I once you get the meat off.Very good and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This duck is AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Its delicious, and very impressive for entertaining. All liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
While I'm not a big duck fan, my spouse is. She and her girlfriends devoured this duck and loved it! I cooked it exactly as given in the recipe. The plum sauce went over big, also. If you like duck you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Wonderful recipe. I stuffed the bird with a bread stuffing. Not very traditional for Peking duck, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
this was excellent. I made the following changes I split the duck along the breast bone and layed it flat before the spice rub, refrigerated overnight.I gently pricked the skin to render most of the fat. Steamed for about 2 hours. I made 3 different dipping sauces, the plum in the recipe, orange sauce made with orange marmalade, and a sweet and sour sauce. The duck was juicy with a nice crispy skin. Not a scrap was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States