Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Its delicious, and very impressive for entertaining. All liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I changed this recipe slighty - becasue I don't have a steamer - and I roasted the duck for 2 hours befoer basting it. I also added chinese plum sauce to my honey baste. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Wonderful recipe. I stuffed the bird with a bread stuffing. Not very traditional for Peking duck, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This was delicious. I didn't have time to make the plum dipping sauce and the duck was tasty without it. But I wish I had planned better and made the sauce while the duck was steaming instead of waiting until the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
this was excellent. I made the following changes I split the duck along the breast bone and layed it flat before the spice rub, refrigerated overnight.I gently pricked the skin to render most of the fat. Steamed for about 2 hours. I made 3 different dipping sauces, the plum in the recipe, orange sauce made with orange marmalade, and a sweet and sour sauce. The duck was juicy with a nice crispy skin. Not a scrap was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I did something wrong and it did not come out crispy....but the flavor was wonderful!! We did buy a premade plum sauce to go with it (lazy that day). We are going to make it again though...great way to have duck! Giggle, giggle, quack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Very easy compared to tradional peking duck recipes, and very tasty. I added grated ginger and pieces of star anise into the cavity and used all the spice rub for the skin. A notes of caution, watch duck very closely when increasing heat (especially if using a convection oven). Didn't make the homemade plum sauce, instead heated 2 tsp. canola oil in saucepan until hot, then added 1 cup hoisin sauce (it will sizzle) and jusce of 2 limes. Usually, peding duck is served with "pancakes" for wrapping the meat - instead, I used lettuce leaves to wrap the duck, along with basil leaves & mint, then added the sauce - fabulous! Serve with fried rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe was absolute rubbish. You need a good few hours (8+) to render the fat before even thinking about making the skin crispy. An utter failure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandmahawkeye
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I made this duck for New Years day, it was very easy. I did have to put duck under broiler to get it crispy, the duck was still great. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
While I'm not a big duck fan, my spouse is. She and her girlfriends devoured this duck and loved it! I cooked it exactly as given in the recipe. The plum sauce went over big, also. If you like duck you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States